uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

The Basque rider still fought bravely and was able to limit losses, crossing the finish line only 44" behind Froome, 26" after Costa - who got an additional four seconds as third over the line.







14.06.2015 @ 22:20 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

There was a bittersweet taste for the Movistar Team at the end of the 2015 Critérium du Dauphiné, which Chris Froome (SKY) conquered with a second, consecutive stage win in Modane Valfrejus. Despite having five riders in the top 25 in the overall classification and comfortably winning the teams' ranking in the process, the squad directed by José Luis Arrieta and José Luis Laguía was held off on the doors of the stage wins - one third place, two 4th spots - and, above all, the final podium, with Beñat Intxausti struggling in a stage where he had to defend a 25-second margin over fourth-placed Rui Costa (LAM).


Gorka Izagirre's presence in the break for the second day in a row and two moves - one climbing, the other downhill - by a courageous Alejandro Valverde on the penultimate ascent of Saint-André contrasted with Intxausti's lack of the strength that he had found in the days prior, dropping back with 4.5km to go. The Basque rider still fought bravely and was able to limit losses, crossing the finish line only 44" behind Froome, 26" after Costa - who got an additional four seconds as third over the line.


He ends his effort in 4th spot, 1'21" behind the winner and only 5" from third, while Valverde - who strengthens his lead in the 2015 UCI WorldTour, in front of absent pursuers Alberto Contador (TCS) and Richie Porte (SKY) - took ninth, 3'12" back. The Movistar Team keeps fighting in the world ranking and is now less than 100 points away from the leaders (784, with Sky at 872), yet still in the same fourth place they had before Dauphiné.


The day's most negative note came as José Herrada had to abandon the race early, fortunately with no big physical consequences. The Spaniard suffered a crash in the feed zone together with Manuel Quinziato (BMC) and suffered a blow to his hip that forced him to withdraw, though the Mota del Cuervo-based rider didn't have any serious injuries.



List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18One for the road 04.09.2018 @ 15:25Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

33 years | today
41 years | today
23 years | today
31 years | today
31 years | today