uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Valverde takes his first ever Spanish time trial title in a dominant Movistar showing that sees the team occupy all spots in the top 6

Photo: Sirotti










27.06.2014 @ 18:52 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Alejandro Valverde has proved that he is fully ready for the upcoming Tour de France by taking a dominant victory at the Spanish time trial championships. In an excellent Movistar showing that saw the team occupy the first 6 spots, he beat Ion Izagirre by 0.56 and defending champion Jonathan Castroviejo 1.04 to claim his first title.


Some people expressed slight concern when Alejandro Valverde returned to competition after a long break and failed to win the Route du Sud overall, having been firmly beaten by Nicolas Roche. Today, however, he firmly put any kind of doubt to rest when he took a dominant victory in the Spanish time trial championships.


On the 47.1km course in Ponferrada that will host the Worlds later this year, Valverde was in a class of his own and claimed a commanding first ever title in the discipline that has never been one of his favourites. At the first check, he was only third, trailing teammate Imanol Erviti by 6 seconds and defending champion and teammate Jonathan Castroviejo by 3 seconds, but from there he dropped the hammer.


At the second check, he was 24 seconds up on Castroviejo while Erviti had drifted to third, one secon further behind. At the finish, Valverde had increased his advantage even more, beating a fast-finishing Ion Izagirre by 56 seconds while Castroviejo had to settle for third in his title defence.


Valverde led a dominant Movistar performance that saw the team occupy the entire top 6, with Jesus Herrada, Erviti and Benat Intxausti finishing just behind the three riders on the podium.


Valverde will get a chance to make the double when he spearheads a strong Movistar team in Sunday's road race.



1. Alejandro Valverde 58.00

2. Ion Izagirre +0.68

3. Jonathan Catroviejo +1.04

4. Jesus Herrada +1.06

5. Imanol Erviti +1.19

6. Benat Intxausti +1.24

7. Eloy Teruel +1.47

8. Jose De Segovia +2.18

9. Oma Fraile +2.24

10. Diego Rubio +2.37



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

27 years | today
34 years | today
Yung Yi FAN
46 years | today
42 years | today
35 years | today