uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Impey is the new overall leader, and with him and Malori being accomplished timetrialists, we’re set for an interesting ITT on Saturday.

Photo: Sirotti






23.05.2013 @ 16:58 Posted by Lukas Knöfler

The second stage of the Bayern-Rundfahrt was expected to split up the field and reshuffle the general classification with two classified climbs on 192.6 km and a constant up and down in the last 80 km, and it didn’t disappoint.


It took almost one hour for a break to get established, but finally nine riders got away, including the wearer of the youth jersey, Davide Cimolai (Lampre-Merida). At the start of the Sankt Englmar climb after 110 km they had a 4-minute gap, but the climbing took its toll. Only six of the escapees remained in front at the top, and yellow jersey Alex Rasmussen (Garmin-Sharp) was dropped from the peloton. Stefan Denifl (IAM Cycling) won the mountain sprint and repeated that on the second climb, taking over the mountain jersey for tomorrow.


Blel Kadri (AG2R La Mondiale) left the rest of the break behind on the following hills, but with 30 km to go he was reeled in by a 60-rider group. Shortly after, a select group of 17 got a small advantage, yet in the end it was a group of 28 that contested the sprint. Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge) in front of Gerald Ciolek (MTN-Qhubeka) and Adriano Malori (Lampre-Merida).


Impey is the new overall leader, and with both him and Malori being accomplished timetrialists, we’re set for an interesting ITT on Saturday. But first the riders will tackle 196.8 km from Viechtach to Kelheim tomorrow.



1. Daryl Impey (Orica-Greenedge) 4:41:30

2. Gerald Ciolek (MTN-Qhubeka)

3. Adriano Malori (Lampre-Merida)

4. Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida)

5. Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale)

6. Michel Kreder (Garmin-Sharp)

7. Martin Elmiger (IAM Cycling)

8. Geraint Thomas (Sky Procycling)

9. John Gadret (AG2R La Mondiale)

10. Christophe Riblon (AG2R La Mondiale)


Daryl Impey leads the GC 3 seconds ahead of Adriano Malori and 4 seconds ahead of Gerald Ciolek.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

44 years | today
28 years | today
28 years | today
42 years | today
Shusaku MATSUO
35 years | today