uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"In the final sprint, we didn’t have a guy like Heinrich Haussler who would have been able to light the fire and finish with punch and flair.”

Photo: Sirotti






01.03.2015 @ 21:07 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Raced under sunny skies and almost spring-like temperatures, the GP della Citta di Lugano ended with Niccolo Bonifazio (Lampre-Merida) winning the sprint.  IAM Cycling had riders in the winning front group, and so succeeded in taking high places in the event.  David Tanner proved best of the team in 9th place. Sébastien Reichenbach finished in 12th and Jaelinson Pantano in 16th.
Before being congratulated by local and recent retiree Cadel Evans, who was on hand to attend the race, David Tanner was realistic in speaking of his place in the top-10. 


“I’d prefer to fight for victory helping a teammate faster than me in this kind of arrival.  Today everyone had his own chance.  We stuck together all day and were very good about anticipating the moves.  We had two riders, Pirmin Lang and Jérôme Coppel, in the group of 17 that escaped, and so all the rest of us had to do was sit tight in the wake of the teams who had to work to bring them back.  Then Jonathan Fumeaux and Sébastien Reichenbach both tried an attack on the final climb, but each time the peloton was able to reel them back in.  Personally, I did not have that great of legs.  I improved as the laps progressed, and then waited for the sprint knowing that I was not one of the best twenty riders in contention for the win.”
Directeur sportif for IAM Cycling, Rubens Bertogliati, was impressed with the good teamwork particularly in view of the fact that they didn’t have a real punchy sprinter for the finish. 


“When the breakaway took off with 17 riders, I thought maybe that would go all the way.  But the Italians did not want to believe in it, and the work in the group was not very productive.  In the final sprint, we didn’t have a guy like Heinrich Haussler who would have been able to light the fire and finish with punch and flair.”



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

23 years | today
Raul Costa SEIBEB
31 years | today
Oystein Stake LAENGEN
34 years | today
32 years | today
Laura Jasiel ROBLES
28 years | today