uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“I’m really happy with my finish but in all honesty, I know I can do better. I may be a 10-year professional, but I am still learning from the little mistakes I made over the past week."

Photo: Sirotti




03.05.2015 @ 18:24 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Javier Megias earned Team Novo Nordisk its first ever top 10 overall result at a UCI 2.HC classified race, which is one level below Grand Tour. The placement also served as a career best at the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey for Megias, who finished 14th overall in last year’s edition.


Sunday’s final stage began with Megias in 11th position. Team Novo Nordisk’s plan was to keep the Spaniard protected until the final lap with the aim of moving him into the top 10 overall. Knowing they needed to race aggressively, Martijn Verschoor attacked from the gun and created the first break of the day. Verschoor was unable to stick with the break as they sprinted up the 50-meter kicker on the nine-lap circuit and decided it would be better to save himself and work for Megias in the finish.


With three turns and a 40-meter rise in the final kilometer, Megias knew the finish would be a battle. Verschoor’s decision to work for Megias paid off, as he was the last teammate when the race hit the base of the final climb. The dramatic cobble finish saw a late race attack from Lluis Mas Bonet (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) who caught several teams off guard. The Spaniard held on to take the win with Megias finishing 11 seconds back. The strong finish gained him seven seconds, enough to move him into 10th place overall.


“I’m really happy with my finish but in all honesty, I know I can do better,” Megias told the Team Novo Nordisk website. “I may be a 10-year professional, but I am still learning from the little mistakes I made over the past week. This was a great result for the team, but now I’m ready to get to California where I’d love to earn a podium result on one of the stages.”


Lluis Mas Bonet (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) took the win ahead of Mark Cavendish (Etixx-Quick Step) and Carlos Barbero (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA). Kristijan Durasek (Lampre-Merida) held on to the overall race win.


Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all-diabetes pro cycling team, resumes racing at the Tour d’Azerbaidjan on Wednesday. The five-day stage race begins with a 154-km sprint stage around Baku.



One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

26 years | today
Mathieu DUMONT
45 years | today
Masatoshi OBA
32 years | today
Karol David Torres RESTREPO
34 years | today
39 years | today