uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Haas repeats his 2011 win in the Japan Cup by holding off Boasson Hagen and Bole in a 9-rider sprint at the end of a hard, selective edition of the Japanese Race

Photo: Garmin-Sharp






19.10.2014 @ 17:07 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Nathan Haas (Garmin-Sharp) repeated his 2011 victory in the Japan Cup when he won the 2014 edition of the biggest Asian one-day race. The Australian beat Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) and Grega Bole (Vini Fantini) in a photo finish after 9 riders arrived at the finish in Utsonomiya.


Three years ago Nathan Haas earned himself a professional contract when he added the Japan Cup to the overall win in the Herald Sun Tour that he had taken a few days earlier. Today he continued his love story with the Japanese race when he won the 2014 edition of the event.


Haas emerged as the strongest when 9 riders arrived at the finish to decide the hard and selective race in Utsonomiya. The Australian benefited from strong support from Daniel Martin and managed to hold off Edvald Boasson Hagen and Grega Bole in a photo finish.


The Japan Cup celebrated its 23rd edition by attracting the largest audience yet. For the first time ever there were spectators all the way around the circuit in Utsonomiya that would be covered 10 times before the 151km race ended with a lap of a 14.1km circuit. According to the organizers, no less than 80,000 people were in attendance, with the event benefiting from splendid weather condiions.


Local hero Takashi Miyazama (Vini Fantini) had announced his retirement before the race and it turned out to be a race with lot of action from riders doing their last race as Karsten Kroon (Tinkoff-Saxo) also played a key role. Right from the start, Nariyuki Masuda (Utsonomiya), Yukihiro Doi (UKYO) and Junya Sano (Japan) attacked already on the first lap but they were brought back.


Instead, Darren Lapthorne (Drapac), Takayuki Abe (Utsonomiya), Jose Vicente Toribio (UKYO) and Genki Yamamoto (Vini Fantini) countered the move and created the long breakaway of the day. On the second lap, Naoya Uchino (Japan) and Sano tried to bridge the gap but they were brought back before they managed to make the junction.


Sky, Garmin-Sharp and Tinkoff-Saxo took control and allowed the gap to reach a maximum of 6.30 after 3 laps. From there, it started to come down, with the deficit being 4 minutes at the end of lap 5. While Bernhard Eisel (Sky) worked in the peloton, Toribio, Yamamote and Abe won the KOM sprints. At the midpoint of the race, the excitement grew when special guest Fabian Cancellara made his attendance.


With two laps to go, the action really started. Starting the penultimate lap, the gap was down to 48 seconds and this prompted Miyazawa to try to bridge the gap. When he was brought back, Jan Polanc (Lampre-Merida) countered the move and he joined Toribio who was the only surviving member of the early break.


However, it wasn’t to be for Toribio and Polanc who were brought back by the peloton as they started the final lap. At this point, less than 20 riders were still in the main group.


As usual, it all came down to the final passage of the climb on the Kogashi Forest Road. Here Moreno Moser (Cannondale) attacked and he crested the summit as the lone leader. On the descent Manuele Boaro (Tinkoff-Saxo) tried to join him but he failed to make the junction.


With 5km to go, Moser was 15 seconds ahead of a 10-rider chase group in which Daniel Martin, Christopher Juul-Jensen and Michael Valgren Anderson (both Tinkoff-Saxo) were chasing hard. Moser battled on courageously but passing the red kite, he was brought back.


The race came down to a sprint from a 9-rider group. Polanc entered the final turn in first position, trying to lead Valerio Conti out. However, Haas and Boasson Hagen reacted immediately but it was Bole who started. Haas moved down the right-hand side of the road and as the Australian, Boasson Hagen and Bole all made a bike throw at the line, it came down to a photo finish. In the end, Haas was declared the winner of the race, making it two in a row for Garmin-Sharp after Jack Bauer won last year’s edition (following the disqualification of Michael Rogers).


The Asian season continues tomorrow when the Tour of Hainan kicks off in China. Lampre-Merida and Belkin will be the two WorldTour teams in the 2.HC event.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

20 years | today
26 years | today
26 years | today
45 years | today
20 years | today