uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Despite what the result may lead you to think, it was not a typical mass sprint, with only 18 riders arriving together.

Photo: Sirotti






23.06.2013 @ 19:31 Posted by Lukas Knöfler

The Lotto-Belisol sprinter won the sprint after 6 laps of 37,5 km around Wangen im Allgäu for a total distance of 224 km. Greipel will now bring the white jersey with black-red-golden bands to the Tour de France, starting Saturday with a sprint stage in Corsica.


Despite what the result may lead you to think, it was not a typical mass sprint: As typical for a championship race, there were lots of attacks, with only 18 riders arriving together. Two laps before the finish, a front group of eight riders from Continental teams had 3:30 on the main peloton, but then the big teams started chasing in earnest. And at the same time, the rain began to fall.


At the start of the last lap, only four of the escapees were still holding on, 1:47 ahead of the roaring bunch: Andreas Schillinger (Nutrixxion-ABUS), Theo Reinhardt (Rad-Net Rose), Alexander Grad (Team Heizomat) and Thomas Koep (Team Stölting). These four had to give in one by one on the final 37,5 km, but the peloton fell apart as well, resulting in a 22-man front group with most of the favourites. Notable absentees were Marcel Kittel (Argos-Shimano) and Danilo Hondo (RadioShack-Leopard).


Marcel Sieberg (Lotto-Belisol) was instrumental in keeping the group together, anticipating possible moves. Stefan Schumacher (Christina Watches-Onfone) attacked with about 6 km to go, but was caught after 2 km; and after that Sieberg pulled so hard on the last kilometres that he went off the front of the group for a while.


André Greipel was the big favourite for the sprint, and he didn’t disappoint, taking his first German title. MTN-Qhubeka’s Gerald Ciolek came second, John Degenkolb (Argos-Shimano) third; Marcel Meisen (BKCP-Powerplus), normally a cyclo-cross rider, took fourth place ahead of Paul Voß (NetApp-Endura).



1. André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol) 5:17:03

2. Gerald Ciolek (MTN-Qhubeka)

3. John Degenkolb (Argos-Shimano)

4. Marcel Meisen (BKCP-Powerplus)

5. Paul Voß (NetApp-Endura)

6. Stefan Schumacher (Christina Watches-Onfone)

7. Silvio Herklotz (Team Stölting)

8. Paul Martens (Blanco Pro Cycling)

9. Raphael Freienstein (Team Heizomat)

10. Marcus Burghardt (BMC Racing Team)



Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58

Currently no news in this list

Remco Te BRAKE
32 years | today
32 years | today
Tomas MOEN
33 years | today
30 years | today
40 years | today