uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Reinardt Janse van Rensburg will lead Giant-Shimano in Binche-Chimay-Binche, while John Degenkolb will replace him as the Dutch team captain two days laters in Paris-Bourges.

Photo: Team Giant-Shimano








06.10.2014 @ 19:43 Posted by Aleksandra Górska

Team Giant-Shimano returns to Tuesday's Binche-Chimay-Binche as last year's victor, after Reinardt Janse van Rensburg won the 2013 edition of the race. This tough end of season race has a profile that suits the punchy sprinters - last year's race broke up on the final time up the finishing cobbles with Janse van Rensburg powering through with a well-timed sprint to take the win.  Two days later, John Degenkolb will lead the team on his return to Paris-Bourges after winning the previous edition in 2013.


The team returns to Binche-Chimay-Binche with two fast finishers in Nikias Arndt and John Degenkolb, together with a strong support team around them.


"Binche is quite an open race and we should be ready for all circumstances," explained team coach Marc Reef. "It can be decided in a group or in a sprint and for the latter we have a good chance with John.


"John was third here in 2012 and knows what it takes to win the race, and with the uphill drag on cobbles to the finish it suits his strengths well. If the race breaks up then we will adapt and take our opportunities as we have a strong team with different riders capable of getting results here.”


In 2013, Degenkolb sprinted to victory in the Paris-Bourges that has proven over the years to suit the fast finishers. He will be supported by a strong line-up that holds both experience and youth.


"Paris-Bourges is a good end of season semi-classic that suits John well," explained coach Christian Guiberteau (FRA). "The goal will be to work for him and to get him into the best possible position for the finish.


"Last year John finished the season in a strong way and hopefully he and the team can do the same this year. He showed with his second place at the Münsterland Giro that he's recovered from the Worlds, and I think we can have a good race here."



Giant-Shimano roster for the 2014 Binche-Chimay-Binche:

Nikias Arndt, Bert De Backer, Brian Bulgac, Roy Curvers, John Degenkolb, Koen De Kort, Tom Stamsnijder, Tom Veelers


Giant-Shimano roster for the 2014 Paris-Bourges:

Brian Bulgac, Lawson Craddock, Thomas Damuseau, John Degenkolb, Dries Devenyns, Thierry Hupond, Daan Olivier, Tom Stamsnijder 



One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

Stefan ROTHE
39 years | today
Joshua KROPF
24 years | today
Yekaterina YURAITIS
24 years | today
31 years | today
40 years | today