uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

On top of Frapporti’s stage win, his teammate Emanuele Sella took enough points on the two classified climbs of the day to win the mountain jersey.

Photo: Sirotti










16.06.2013 @ 18:03 Posted by Lukas Knöfler

In a very fast final stage in the south of France, Italian Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela) overcame the odds to take a brilliant stage win in the sprint after being in two breakaway groups during the day. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) defended the coral-red leader’s jersey to take the overall victory.


Today’s 4th stage of the Route du Sud was certainly one to remember. The flat nature of the 149,2 km stage resulted in an average speed of 46 km/h, but nevertheless there were countless attacks. Overall leader leader Voeckler personally covered many dangerous moves, and only after 65 km did a group get a substantial gap. It consisted of 12 riders: Ángel Madrazo was the best-placed rider overall, 4:47 behind the Frenchman, so he was no threat.


The other 11 were Samuel Dumoulin (AG2R La Mondiale), David Lelay (Sojasun), Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela), Cyril Bessy (Cofidis), Gaël Malacarne (Bretagne-Séché Environnement), Guillaume Faucon (BigMat-Auber 93), Julien Antomarchi (La Pomme Marseille), Salvatore Puccio (Sky Procycling), Sebastian Baldauf (NSP-Ghost) Nicolas Vogondy and Grégory Habeaux (both Accent Jobs-Wanty). They built a gap of 1:30, but then Caja Rural took up the chase – with 40 km to go the break was reeled in.


Soon after, a group of 10 took off: Javier Moreno (Movistar), Laurent Pichon (FDJ), Christophe Laborie (Sojasun), Florent Barle (Cofidis), Thomas Vaubourzeix (La Pomme Marseille), Christian Knees (Sky Procycling), Jurgen van Goolen (Accent Jobs-Wanty), Amets Txurruka (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), René Hooghiemster (NSP-Ghost), Axel Domont (AG2R La Mondiale) and Marco Frapporti, who managed to get into this group again. Txurruka was only 1:31 behind overall, so the gap was controlled and never got above 30 seconds.


Three riders attacked from the front group with 10 km to go: Knees, Vaubourzeix and Frapporti. They had a 15-second advantage coming onto the last kilometre, the chasing group having been caught. The peloton caught the three with the finish in sight, but after all his efforts during the day, Frapporti amazingly still had a little left to sprint, and won ahead of Danilo Napolitano (Accent Jobs-Wanty) and Benjamin Giraud (La Pomme Marseille).


As there were no changes in the general classification, Thomas Voeckler wins the 2013 Route du Sud. And on top of Frapporti’s stage win, his teammate Emanuele Sella took enough points on the two classified climbs of the day to win the mountain jersey.


Stage 4 result:

1. Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela) 3:14:35

2. Danilo Napolitano (Accent Jobs-Wanty)

3. Benjamin Giraud (La Pomme Marseille)

4. Adrien Petit (Cofidis)

5. Anthony Roux (FDJ)

6. Christian Knees (Sky Procycling)

7. Roy Jans (Accent Jobs-Wanty)

8. Francis Mourey (FDJ)

9. Samuel Dumoulin (AG2R La Mondiale)

10. Manuel Cardoso (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


Final general classification:

1. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) 17:56:02

2. Franco Pellizotti (Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela) 0:04

3. John Gadret (AG2R La Mondiale) 0:06

4. Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) 0:09

5. Diego Rosa (Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela) 0:20

6. Ruben Plaza (Movistar)

7. Hubert Dupont (AG2R La Mondiale)

8. Kanstantsin Siutsou (Sky Procycling) 0:26

9. Guillaume Levarlet (Cofidis) 0:28

10. Fabrice Jeandesboz (Sojasun)



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

29 years | today
41 years | today
28 years | today
27 years | today
Ludovic TURPIN
48 years | today