uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Voeckler, Rolland, Veilleux and Gautier all given the nod while 5 spots are still up for grabs

Photo: Sirotti












17.06.2013 @ 16:24 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Team Europcar has officially selected the first 4 riders for their Tour de France roster as Thomas Voeckler, Pierre Rolland, David Veilleux and Cyril Gautier have all been given the nod. 5 spots are still up for grabs and will probably not be filled until after the French championships this weekend.


Team Europcar has made a habit of having success at the Tour de France. Ever since the car rental company took over the main sponsorship prior to the 2011 season, the team has delivered the goods in the world's biggest bike race.


In 2011, Thomas Voeckler wore the yellow jersey for 10 days and ultimately finished 4th while Pierre Rolland was best young rider and won the stage to l'Alpe d'Huez. Last year, Rolland once again won a big mountain stage in the Alps and finished 8th overall while Voeckler was king of the mountains and won a big stage in both the Alps and the Pyrenees.


The team has no main sponsor for next season and hopes to use a solid performance on the biggest scene of them all to attract attention from potential backers. Once again, Voeckler and Rolland are set to spearhead the team and both have now officially been given the nod to head to Corsica later this month.


Voeckler broke his collarbone in the Amstel Gold Race and crashed hard when he came back to competition in the Tour of Belgium. He bounced back from his bad luck by winning a stage in the Criterium du Dauphiné and he climbed solidly in the queen stage. Last week, he got the final confirmation of his good shape when he won the tough stage over Port de Bales and Col du Peyresourde in the Route du Sud, winning the race overall in the process.


Rolland usually has a quiet spring but this year he performed strongly. He used a win in the queen stage of the Circuit Cycliste Sarthe to take the overall win in the 4-day race and finished 10th in the Giro del Trentino. He most recently raced the Criterium du Dauphiné where he lost his overall hopes due to a crash and was caught close to the finish when he tried to bounce back with a long-distance attack in the queen stage. He failed to finish the race due to pain in his Achilles tendon.


David Veilleux and Cyril Gautier have both been selected to support their leaders. The former earned his spot by winning the first stage at the Dauphiné and by defending the overall lead for two days. He will make his grand tour debut on Corsica on June 29.


Gautier is a already an experienced Tour rider, having participated in the world's biggest race every year sin 2010. He is a relentless attacker and was close to taking a stage win when he finished 4th in stage 12 last year. This year he won the tough Breton race, the Tour du Finistere.


5 spots are still up for grabs and while the team has not announced when they will finalize their selection, the final names will probably not be known until after the French road race championships in the weekend.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Luis Moyano MINISTRO
47 years | today
23 years | today
24 years | today
Angelo COCCO
43 years | today
Victor H. OROZCO
37 years | today