uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

After 12 top 5 results in 2014, Colbrelli finally takes the elusive victory when he beats race leader Matthews to win a 36-rider sprint at the end of a hard second stage of the Tour de Slovenie

Photo: Sirotti








20.06.2014 @ 18:55 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani) finally took a long overdue first professional victory when he won today’s second stage of the Tour de Slovenie. The Italian emerged as the fastest when a reduced 36-rider peloton arrived at the finish to decide the stage in a sprint, holding off Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE) who defended his leader’s jersey.


Going into the Tour de Slovenie, Sonny Colbrelli had finished in the top 5 no less than 12 times in the 2014 season but for some reason that elusive first professional victory seemed to always elude the talented Italian. Today he finally broke his drought when he won the second stage of the Tour de Slovenie.


The win came in a race that suited Colbrelli’s characteristics. A hard category 1 climb in the finale was set to whittle down the peloton significantly and when the pure sprinters are left behind, the Italian is usually one of the fastest.


Colbrelli dug deep to make it over the top of the climb with the best and so was part of the 36-rider group that roared towards the finish. A few riders tried to escape in the finale but there was nothing to be done to prevent a sprint finish.


Here all eyes were on race leader Michael Matthews but Colbrelli managed to deny the Australian a second consecutive victory. Grega Bole (Vini Fantini) continued his successful return after having had difficulty finding a new team by sprinting across the line in third.


The stage took place on a 160.7km course from Ribnica to Kocevje and had a very hard start. Right from the beginning, the riders went up a category 3 climb but from there the roads were completely flat until they hit the category 1 climb Reber. A fast descent led to the final 26km that were completely flat.


The hard stage animated the racing from the beginning as a lot of riders wanted to make it into the early break but it was Emanuele Selle (Androni), Sergey Firsanov (Rusvelo), Stefano Tonin and Giorgio Cecchinel (Neri Sottoli) that escaped on the first climb. The quartet was allowed to build a 3-minute gap before Orica-GreenEDGE took control and the Australians kept the gap stable at around that mark for almost the entire day.


As they approached the Reber climb, the pace went up and at the bottom, the four escapees only had 1 minute in hand. NetApp-Endura upped the speed as soon as they started to climb while Tonin was the frist to get dropped from the breakaway.


Firsanov escaped on his own and did well to stay clear for a long time while Colombia now had taken over the pace-setting in the bunch. They launched Robinson Chalapud off in an attack but a few kilometres before the top, both Chalapud and Firsanov were back in the fold.


25 riders crested the summit together, with Davide Villella (Cannondale) being the first rider at the top, but a few more riders rejoined on the descent until a 36-group had formed. They kept the speed high all the way to the finish and neutralized the few attacks before Colbrelli beat Matthews in the sprint finish.


With no bonus seconds in the race, Matthews defended his 6-second lead over Kristijan Koren (Cannondale) but faces a much harder test in tomorrow’s queen stage. The stage includes three smaller climbs in the first part before it all comes to a very exciting end on a hard category 1 climb to the finish.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

28 years | today
36 years | today
28 years | today
Anthony CLARK
37 years | today
Byron Patricio GUAMA DE LA CRUZ
39 years | today