uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Tuft attacks on his own more than 100km from the finish in the Canadian road race championships and holds off his chasers to claim his second win in the event

Photo: Sirotti






28.06.2014 @ 22:44 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Svein Tuft (Orica-GreenEDGE) has added the Canadian road race title to the win in the time trial that he took a few days ago by putting in an excellent solo performance in today's 2014 championships. Being on his own for more than 100km, the Canadian held off his chasers to claim his second win in the event while his his teammate Christian Meier made it a great day for Orica-GreenEDGE by finishing third.


Sven Tuft is known as an excellent time triallist but in the road races he is mostly known as a domestique. So to win the Canadian road race championships he had to invent his own time time trial and that's what he did in today's 2014 edition of the event.


After a very hectic and fast start that had seen the group splinter to pieces, Tuft found himself with Orica-GreenEDGE teammate Christian Meier in a small lead group that contained no less than 15 riders from the Smartstop team. Not intimated by his rivals, the Canadian attacked on his own with more than 100km to go, probably in an attempt to allow Meier to save energy for later.


On the hilly circuit, however, Tuft kept extending his advantage until it reached two minutes while behind a race of attrition was taking place that saw the group constantly get smaller and smaller. However, the chasers had big problems getting closer to the Orica-GreenEDGE rider who maintained his 2-minute gap for almost the entire race.


Meier made sure to follow all moves and when a three-rider group with Ryan Roth and Michael Woods had emerged on the penultimate lap. Despite their best efforts, however, the chasers were still 2 minutes behind by the time Tuft started the final 30km downhill section to the finish.


A tiring Tuft started to lose ground but with 8km to go, he was still 1.40 ahead and it was clear that nothing could be done to stop the outstanding Canadian who soloed across the line to take his second road race title just days after winning the time trial. Woods had been dropped from the chase group but Roth beat Meier in the sprint for second to deny the Orica-GreenEDGE pair a 1-2 in the event.


As Tuft is not in contention for a spot on the Orica-GreenEDGE roster for the Tour de France, it is unknown when he will make his debut in his new jersey.



1. Svein Tuft

2. Ryan Roth

3. Christian Meier

4. Michael Woods



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
22 years | today
37 years | today
43 years | today
34 years | today