uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Having made it into an 11-rider breakaway, Langeveld attacks on his own and holds off the Belkin chase to take the Dutch road race title

Photo_ GreenEDGE










29.06.2014 @ 17:55 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Sebastian Langeveld (Garmin-Sharp) completed an excellent solo performance in the Dutch championships in impressive fashion to take his first ever national road race title. Despite being up against large contingents from Belkin and Giant-Shimano, the Garmin rider proved to be in a class of his own and added the victory to the silver medal he had taken in Wednesday's time trial.


Going into the Dutch road race championships, the odds were on Giant-Shimano or Belkin to exploit their numerical superiority to come away with the title. However, Sebastian Langeveld defied expectations and denied the major favourites the win that they had been looking for.


Langeveld joined a strong 11-rider group that emerged in the finale and had teammate Dylan van Baarle for company. With Lars Boom and Maarten Tjallingii from Belkin and Brian Bulgac, Tom Dumoulin and Ramon Sinkeldam from Giant, both the major teams had riders in the group but they failed to control an unstoppable Langeveld.


Langeveld made his move from afar and from there no one could deny him the win. His chasers were all caught by the peloton in which Belkin were doing their utmost to bring him back but they failed to do so. At the finish line, Langeveld still had a 33-second advantage and could take his first national road race title. Behind, Niki Terstra (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) beat Wesley Kreder (Wanty) in the sprint for the minor positions, meaning that both Belkin and Giant left the race empty-handed.


The race was held on a circuit in Oostmarsum that had two smaller climbs. However, the main difficult was the distance of 243km that would take its toll on a lot of riders.


Early on a very big 15-rider group was allowed to build up a 10-minute gap before the small Parkhotel Valkenburg team started to chase. As they approached the finish, more teams joined the work and the gap started to come down.


When the break was caught, new attacks were launched and in the end, an 11-rider group had gone clear. In addition to Langeveld, van Baarle, Boom, Tjallingii, Sinkeldam, Bulgac and Dumoulin, Terpstra, Danny Van Poppel (Trek), Ronan Van Zandbeek (De Rijke), Coen Vermeltffor (De Rijke) and Dennis Smit (Metec) had all made it into the move.


The escapees worked well together to build a gap before Langeveld launched his move from afar. Tjallingii tried to bridge across twice but failed to do so and instead the peloton caught the chasers. It was all too late for the big teams though and Langeveld held on to take a solo victory.


The Garmin-Sharp roster for the Tour de France hasn't been announced yet and so it is still unclear whether the Dutch champion's jersey will be on show in France.



1. Sebastien Langeveld 5.42.01

2. Niki Terpstra +0.33

3. Wesley Kreder

4. Tom Veelers

5. Theo Bos

6. Bram Tankink

7. Berden De Vries

8. Jesper Asselman

9. Coen Vermeltfoort

10. Martijn Keizer



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

41 years | today
36 years | today
Valentin RICHARD
26 years | today
32 years | today
38 years | today