uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Vacansoleil rider wins his national title 5 months after dramatic training crash in an extremely hard race on a tough course in Kerkrade

Photo: Sirotti






23.06.2013 @ 21:08 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil) made it clear to everybody that he has recovered completely from his dramatic training crash in February when he held off the entire Blanco team on a tough course at the Dutch road race championships. Having joined Bram Tankink (Blanco) and Sebastian Langeveld (Orica-GreenEdge) in a front trio late in the race, he escaped on his own on the day's penultimate climb, thus taking a very emotional win on home soil.


When Johnny Hoogerland crashed hard during a training ride in Spain in February and came away from the incident with a fractured vertebrae, a bruised liver and some internal bleeding, few would have suggested that he would go on to win the Dutch national championships less than 6 months later. Nonetheless, that was exactly what happened today when the Vacansoleil rider came home triumphant in a tremendously hard edition of the championships race.


The race was held on the same tough circuit in Kerkrade that saw Niki Terpstra take the title one year ago and like last year, the race developed into attrition. Surprisingly, one of the day's outsider, newly crowned time trial champion Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil) was the first to attack, the Dutchman being joined by Dion Beukeboom (Cycling Team De Rijke), Jasper Hamelink (Koga) and Dennis Smit (Metec).



The quartet was allowed to build up a 4-minute gap but the mighty Blanco team was in determined mood to take their first win in their home championships since 2008. Hence, the team put down the hammer, drastically reducing the size of the peloton under the pressure from Stef Clement and Jos Van Emden.


Westra was in a class of his own and gradually dropped his companions, continuing on his own with 90km to go. Nonetheless, his time gap kept coming down and with 35km to go, it was all over for the time trial specialist.


His teammate Maurits Lammertink made an immediate counterattack but got nowhere and from then on, the race turned into a festival of attacks. Riders kept going clear for a short while before being reeled back in by the peloton which had now been reduced to just around 10 riders.


Finally, one rider had success as Bram Tankink (Blanco) got clear on his own. Soon after he was joined by Hoogerland and Sebastian Langeveld to form a very strong front trio.


Behind, riders kept attacking in an attempt to bridge the gap, once of the offensives being launched by defending champion Terpstra. The most successful move came from Michel Kreder (Garmin) and Boy Van Poppel (Vacansoleil), the duo long being stuck in between the front trio and the small main group.


Karsten Kroon (Saxo-Tinkoff) attacked hard and passed the chasing duo, thus setting off in pursuit on his own. He was joined by Tom Dumoulin (Argos-Shimano) and the youngster proved stronger than the veteran as Dumoulin left Kroon behind.


Up ahead, Tankink was unable to follow his companions on one of the climbs on the final lap, thus once again making sure than Blanco came away from its big home race empty-handed. On the penultimate climb, Hoogerland attacked Langeveld who was unable to respond, thus allowing the Vacansoleil rider to take an emotional win.


Langeveld was overtaken by Dumoulin on the final climb to the finish and so had to settle for 3rd while Pim Ligthart (Vacansoleil) and Terpstra followed a little later while Tom-Jelte Slagter was the first Blanco rider across the line in 6th.


Hoogerland will bring his new jersey to France as he will line up at the Tour de France on Saturday.



1. Johnny Hoogerland 6.02.25

2. Tom Dumoulin +0.23

3. Sebastian Langeveld +0.27

4. Pim Ligthart +1.07

5. Niki Terpstra

6. Tom-Jelte Slagter +1.09

7. Karsten Kroon +1.13

8. Wilco Kelderman +1.19

9. Bram Tankink +1.49

10. Boy Van Poppel +2.15



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

34 years | today
Renato SILVA
48 years | today
33 years | today
68 years | today
Mootez MEJRI
31 years | today