uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

After three years as part of the Colombia team, Duque will join Delko Parseille-Provence 13 KTM

Photo: Sirotti




25.10.2015 @ 07:30 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Leonardo Duque will spend next season at Delko Marseille-Provence KTM, returning to France after having previously spent seven years at Cofidis.


According to Spanish website Biciciclismo, Duque returns to the French squad Delko Marseille-Provence KTM (known as Marseille 13-KTM in 2015) after three years with Team Colombia which folds at the end of the year. Vélo-Club La Pomme-Marseille is aiming to move up to the Professional Continental category in 2016, the same as Cofidis, Europcar (Direct Energie in 2016) and Bretagne-Séché (Fortuneo Vital in 2016). The French team appeared on the first official list of applicants released by the International Cycling Union (UCI).


The Colombian rider will be one of the leaders thanks to his experience and because he is a fast rider. The broker Colombian has done 13 Grand Tours: six editions of the Vuelta a Espana, four Giri d'Italia and three Tours de France.


Duque has a rich palmares that includes a Vuelta a Espana stage to Puertollano in 2007, the Tour du Limousin and classics like Cholet-Pays de Loire, Druivenkoers-Overijse and GP Bruno Beghelli, his last victory in 2013. He won the Coupe de France in 2010 which proves his versatility. He was also fourth in the 2012 E3 Prijs Vlaanderen, only beaten by Boonen, Freire and Eisel, and touched a win in the Tour de France in 2008, beaten by Freire in Digne-les-Bains.


In 2015 he was competitive and nearly won stages in the Tour de Luxembourg and the Route du Sud; he did the Vuelta a Espana, and in the final part of the season he was eighth in the Coppa Sabatini and fifth in the GP Bruno Beghelli.


Earlier in his career he rode for Jartazi (2004-2005), Chocolade Jacques (2004 stagiare), Cofidis (2006-2012) and Team Colombia (2013-2015).


Bicicilismo also reports that Argentiniean Dani Diaz (Funvic Brasilinvest-São José dos Campos) is another South American rider to join Delko Marseille-Provence KTM in 2016. And Thierry Hupond (Giant-Alpecin), Yannick Martinez (Team Europcar), Norwegian Fredrik Stand Galta, Romain Combaud and Quentin Pacher (Armée de Terre) and Martin Laas (Team Pro Immo Nicolas Roux) are alse reported to be joining the team. Julien El Fares, Remy Di Gregorio, Benjamin Giraud and Evaldas Siškevičius will remain in the team. The roster is almost complete.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Chiara VANNI
35 years | today
Michael WOLF
39 years | today
Sebastian Kirkedam LARSEN
21 years | today
31 years | today
35 years | today