uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“Our main goal will be taking the stage win we got just close to last year, possibly even more than one. In order to do that, we will race on the attack, particularly in the toughest mountain stages," Corti says











01.05.2014 @ 10:43 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Team Colombia have selected the roster for their second Giro d'Italia and after a successful first outing, the team has set its sights on the stage win that narrowly eluded it 12 months ago. Fabio Duarte leads a team that also includes climbers Jarlinson Pantano, Miguel Angel Rubiano and Robinson Chalapud while Leonardo Duque and Edwin Avila will target the sprint finishes.


After the final test at Liege-Bastogne-Liege, Team Colombia’s technical staff selected the nine-man line-up that will take the start of the97th Giro d’Italia in Belfast (Northern Ireland) on Friday May 9th.
The nine riders, who will wear dossard numbers from 71 to 79, will be guided from the team cars by Sports Directors Valerio Tebaldi,Oscar Pellicioli and Oliverio Rincon.

Six out of nine riders in Team Colombia’s line-up already took part to the team’s Giro debut 12 months ago: Miguel Angel Rubiano and two GT debutants - Jeffry Romero and Rodolfo Torres – will be the novelties. The latter’s spot in the Corsa Rosa’s line-up was confirmed after x-rays on his left wrist after a heavy crash at Liege-Bastogne-Liege did not reveal any serious consequence.

Leader of the Colombian team will be Fabio Duarte, whose strong display at the recent Giro del Trentino resulted in an overall fourth place, less than a second away of the third podium spot. After finishing 5th on the Col du Galibier and 2nd in Tre Cime di Lavaredosnowstorm in 2013, Duarte will be looking to finally clinch a Giro d’Italia stage win this time out.

With a Giro d’Italia stage win already in his palmares, Miguel Angel Rubiano will bring the Colombian National Champion’s jersey back in the Giro peloton. Jarlinson Pantano and Robinson Chalapud are set to make their return to the Corsa Rosa after several strong breakaway showings last term, while Carlos Julian Quintero is determined to leave a mark on the race he was forced to leave in advance due to a tendinitis 12 months ago.

For sprint finishes, Team Colombia will rely on experienced Leonardo Duque, a Grand Tour veteran with 11 participations under his belt, and talented two-time Point Race World Champion Edwin Avila, now expected to make a significant quality leap out of the velodromes.

“Compared to last year, we have one more year and a Giro of experience, and that will make some real difference," General ManagerClaudio Corti explained. “Even in the setup, the riders clearly were much more aware of what is in store for them, and that’s why I believe we will get to the Giro in a much better condition than last year, with every chance to improve the good showing of last year. After some weeks of worry and tension, we are finally receiving the first UK Visas, and we hope the issue will be completely solved in time to leave to Belfast.”

“Our main goal will be taking the stage win we got just close to last year, possibly even more than one. In order to do that, we will race on the attack, particularly in the toughest mountain stages – that’s what everybody expects from an all-Colombian team, after all.
"We will focus on one day and one stage at the time, and if that approach will bring one of our riders up in the standings, we won’t definitely back down. Our main priority though will be making an impact on this race, no matter what.”
Giro d'Italia (May 9th - June 1st)
Line-up: Edwin Avila, Robinson Chalapud, Fabio Duarte, Leonardo Duque, Jarlinson Pantano, Carlos Julian Quintero, Jeffry Romero, Miguel Angel Rubiano, Rodolfo Torres



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

20 years | today
34 years | today
29 years | today
Phaedra KROL
25 years | today
40 years | today