uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

After a bad start, van der Poel won the World Cup race in Zeven in dominant fashion; Van Aert finished second and retained the overall lead










26.11.2016 @ 16:37 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Mathieu Van der Poel has won the fourth round of the Cyclo-Cross World Cup. The Dutchman had a very bad start in the German city of Zeven, but after a fast chase, he proved to be stronger than Wout van Aert. Kevin Pauwels finished third.


Due to the cancellation of the Duinencross in Koksijde, the fourth World Cup race was held today in the German city of Zeven. It was the first German World Cup race since 2003. Wout van Aert started with a comfortable overall advantage over Laurens Sweeck while archrival Van der Poel was down in 19th place due to his injury problems at the beginning of the season.


In the cold temperatures, Tom Meeusen led the troops in the opening lap, with Wout Van Aert and Michael Vanthourenhout in his slipstream while Mathieu Van der Poel had a very bad start and found himself in the middle of the pack. Van Aert saw his chance to get rid of his main rival early in the race and set a brutal pace. Only Meeusen could stay in his wheel.


After two laps, the duo had an advantage of 10 seconds over of a large group with Vanthourenhout, Toon Aerts and Kevin Pauwels while a fast-chasing Van der Poel followed just behind. In the sand, he quickly rejoined the group. It was time for Van Aert to up the pace and Tom Meeusen could not match his compatriot.


After three laps, Van Aert was the lone leader, andMeeusen followed at 8 seconds. Behind the two Belgians Mathieu Van der Poel led the chasing group, fifteen seconds behind the world champion. The Dutchman was now riding at full gas, quickly dropped and soon joined Meeusen. In fact, he took the lead over and continued to chase lone leader Van Aert.


Halfway through the race, the inevitable happened: Van der Poel joined rival Van der Poel. After a long chase the Dutchman needed a brief moment to recover, but three laps from the end he had had enough rest to demonstrate his superiority: on a short and very steep climb, Van der Poel rode Van Aert off his wheel and quickly built a comfortable lead.


One lap later, Van der Poel was already riding tempo and controlling the race with apparent ease. The Dutchman rode to a dominant victory in the World Cup but with his second place, Van Aert defended the lead in the standings. In the background, Kevin Pauwels passed Tom Meeusen and took the third podium spot.


For Van der Poel, it was the eighth win of the season and so he adds excitement to the World Cup. Van Aert won the first two races in the United States (Las Vegas and Iowa) in the beginning of the season while Van der Poel the strongest in Valkenburg a little more than a month ago. He skipped the first two races due to injury. The sixth round will take place on Citadel of Namur on December 18.


There will be no time to rest as the Flandriencross in Hamme, the third round of the DVV Trofee, takes place tomorrow. Van Aert also leads that series as Van der Poel had an off-day in the Koppenbergcross.



  1. 1. Mathieu van der Poel 1.03.21
  2. 2. Wout van Aert +0.21
  3. 3. Kevin Pauwels +0.31
  4. 4. Tom Meeusen +0.53
  5. 5. Clement Venturini +1.08
  6. 6. Laurens Sweeck +1.24
  7. 7. Corne Van Kessel +1.32
  8. 8. Gianni Vermeersch +1.38
  9. 9. Michael Vanthourenhout +1.53
  10. 10. Marcel Meisen +1.59


Overall standings

  1. 1. Wout van Aert 230
  2. 2. Laurens Sweeck 174
  3. 3. Michael Vanthourenhout 166
  4. 4. Kevin Pauwels 164
  5. 5.Toon Aerts 154
  6. 6. Tom Meeusen 137
  7. 7. Gianni Vermeersch 126
  8. 8. Tim Merlier 118
  9. 9. Dieter Vanthourenhout 117
  10. 10. Jim Aernouts 113 



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Michelle ANDRES
27 years | today
Douglas OFFER
38 years | today
Shota YODA
25 years | today
Jean François PESSEY
40 years | today
Patrick BURT
28 years | today