uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

After a strong comeback, Van Aert dropped van der Poel and soloed to victory in the fifth round of the Superprestige series; van der Poel retained the lead

Photo: UCI/Graham Watson








03.12.2016 @ 16:59 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Wout van Aert has taken his first victory since the Koppenbergcross on November 1. Twenty minutes before the end of the Superprestige race in Spa-Francorchamps, the 21-year-old world champion dropped his rival Mathieu van der Poel whose string of victories in the series was broken as he had to settle for second. European champion Toon Aerts finished third.


As usual, Tom Meeusen took the lead in the opening lap but European Champion Toon Aerts soon passed him. The 'Big Two' Mathieu van der Poel and Wout van Aert followed him together with Mathieu’s brother David van der Poel, Tom Meeusen and Klaas Vantornout at the second passage of the legendary Raidillon.

Mathieu van der Poel could not hold back any longer and after only half a lap, he made an explosive acceleration. His great rival, Van Aert, slid out in a slippery curve and started the next lap eight seconds behind the young Dutchman.


Van Aert was forced to chase, but thanks to an impressive passage of 'the Wall', a heavy uphill running section, the world champion made it back. Van der Poel slowed down immediately and this allowed Aerts to rejoin the duo.

The world champion continued to impress during the next laps and on the famous Wall. About twenty minutes before the end, it was finally too much for his breakaway companions. Both Van der Poel and Aerts started to lose ground on the climb. With three laps to go, Van Aert had a lead of 10 seconds.


In the final part of the race, Van der Poel quickly realized that it was impossible to get back to a strong Van Aert. He eventually lost half a minute to the world champion who didn’t raise his arms in celebration.

Aerts completed the podium.


With the win, Van Aert reduced his deficit in the overall standings to 3 points. The next round will be held in Diegem on December 23.



1. Wout Van Aert 1.00.43

2. Mathieu van der Poel +0.32

3. Toon Aerts +0.35

4. Kevin Pauwels +1.25

5. Laurens Sweeck +1.32

6. Tom Meeusen +1.38

7. Jens Adams +1.40

8. Philipp Walsleben +1.53

9. Klaas Vantornout +2.19

10. Stephen Hyde +2.30


Overall standings

1. Mathieu van der Poel 74

2. Wout Van Aert 71

3. Laurens Sweeck 62

4. Jens Adams 49

5. Toon Aerts 47

6. Klaas Vantornout 46

7. Kevin Pauwels 45

8. David van der Poel 35

9. Tom Meeusen 32

10. Tim Merlier 21



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Peilun WU
34 years | today
31 years | today
Jonas RAPP
30 years | today
27 years | today
23 years | today