uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

In addition to a possible prestigious victory, the French champion could also have the honour of equalling André Greipel in the amount of wins achieved in 2014

Photo: Sirotti






12.10.2014 @ 13:12 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The 108th edition of Paris-Tours will perhaps allow Arnaud Démare to finish the year at the top of the pile. However, victory could also be snatched by a former winner of the “Espoirs” version of the race: 2 of them will be in the pack.
Following on from his success on the Tour of Eurométrople and the Isbergues GP, Arnaud Démare will get to grips with the last challenge of his season this Sunday. In addition to a possible prestigious victory, the French champion could also have the honour of equalling André Greipel in the amount of wins achieved in 2014. The year’s hierarchy is indeed dominated by 5 sprinters, with the Gorilla being the most prolific, picking up 16 bouquets. Greipel, who already distinguished himself in such a fashion in 2012 (19) and 2010 (21), can be caught only by Démare. In case of triumph for the title holder, John Degenkolb will confirm his place in the Top 10 of the year’s most productive winners, which features four German riders in total.
Alongside the elite race, Paris-Tours is also one of the key events of the season for the emerging riders, aged 23 years old or less. However, since the beginning of the 1990’s, none of the winners from the ranks of young riders has managed to repeat the feat among their elders, including Hushovd or Boonen, still searching for success on the classic of the falling leaves. In the pack this year, two former winners of Paris-Tours Espoirs will be present, with varying chances of leaving their mark on the race: Jelle Wallays (2010), as well as the title holder, Flavien Dassonville. The riders looking to follow in Dassonville’s footsteps will total approximately 200 at Châtillon-en-Dunois, with in particular the Omnium world champion, Thomas Boudat, the winner of Paris-Roubaix Espoirs and the emerging riders' World Cyclo Cross championships, Mike Teunissen, or Jérémy Leveau, French champion in the category.
Like in 2013, the images of Paris-Tours will be broadcast in 190 countries and on five continents. In total, 24 broadcasters will be showing the race, with 18 providing live or slightly deferred coverage. In France, the race will be shown from 3.20 PM on France 3, or from 3.30 PM on Eurosport, with the programme set to end at 4.45 PM.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
44 years | today
Bai Ru MIN
27 years | today
30 years | today
Favian REYES
35 years | today