uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"It’s extra fun that I can win in my home town. It couldn’t be better. I’m first in GC, but of course we still have Jürgen Roelandts. We’re with two now for a good GC."

Photo: Vincent Calu/Photonews






03.10.2013 @ 19:29 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Today, Jens Debusschere won the first stage in the Tour de l’Eurométropole. About one o’clock the riders started in La Louvière for a ride of 195 km, the longest of four stages. At the end were three local laps of 15,7 km in and around finish town Moorslede. 


After 50 km the break of the day was formed: Amorison (Crelan-Euphony), Goddaert (IAM), Lindeman (Vacansoleil), Mørkøv (Saxo-Tinkoff) and Wallays (Topsport). Mestre (Euskaltel) was originally also part of that group but soon had to let go of the others.


The peloton kept the gap under control. In the final Anthony Delaplace jumped to the front group. In the final lap all got back together and it ended with a bunch sprint. Jens Debusschere won in his home town before Nikolas Maes and Kenneth Vanbilsen. It’s his second pro victory after he won the Kampioenschap van Vlaanderen Koolskamp two weeks ago. Tomorrow he can start in the leader’s jersey.


“It was already very nice that I could win in Koolskamp that late in the season and now I get this second win. I keep being in a good condition. It’s extra fun that I can win in my home town. It couldn’t be better. I’m first in GC, but of course we still have Jürgen Roelandts. We’re with two now for a good GC. It will depend on the race developments how that will end, if the race is decided on a hill or not. But I definitely want to aim for a good result.”


“The beginning of the race was very fast, it took more than an hour before a group could stay ahead. With riders like Marcel Sieberg and Jürgen Roelandts at you’re side you’re always more confident for the sprint. They started pretty early, but none of the teams got next to us. With 200 meters to go I took over from Jürgen. It really was teamwork today. Sander rode at the front of the peloton all day and with the other guys we controlled the final lap. It all went perfectly.”



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

47 years | today
Chao Kai CHIN
31 years | today
40 years | today
Samuele MION
21 years | today
19 years | today