uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"We have to wait and see how Thomas De Gendt and Jens Debusschere have recovered from the Tour, we expect them to be there in the second half of the race. Jürgen Roelandts, Kenny Dehaes and also Jens are fast so they can sprint fo...

Photo: Lotto Soudal












01.08.2015 @ 16:59 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Tomorrow the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic will take place, also known as the London Classic. The riders have to cover 200 kilometres, with five climbs on the route.


This Europe Tour race takes place for the fifth time. Start and finish are in the heart of London. The race will start at St James’s Park and will finish on The Mall, in front of the Buckingham Palace. The riders first head to Surrey where they have to cover three local laps. It’s a tough course with five hills: Leith Hill, three times Ranmore and Box Hill. The last climb is located 50 kilometres from the finish.


Jürgen Roelandts and Jens Debusschere will be at the start for Lotto Soudal. There are also two trainees in the selection: Dries Van Gestel and Kenneth Van Rooy. They will race next to Tom Boonen, Rohan Dennis and Edvald Boasson Hagen. Adam Blythe, last year’s winner, will start as well. Sports director Marc Wauters gives his opinion about the race.


 “It’s a very special race, you don’t get to ride through the centre of London every day. The finish is in front of Buckingham Palace and that’s unique. There is a lot of prize money to be awarded and that makes we always get to watch a nice race," he saud.


“The two trainees in our team will get a free role, they might join an early breakaway. We have to wait and see how Thomas De Gendt and Jens Debusschere have recovered from the Tour, we expect them to be there in the second half of the race. Jürgen Roelandts, Kenny Dehaes and also Jens are fast so they can sprint for us.


“This is a race where many young riders want to seize the opportunity. We have to see which riders are fresh after a tough Tour de France and who will control the race. If the right riders are in the break it might make it till the end. This race is hard to predict and that’s what makes it so nice.”


Selection London-Surrey Classic:

Jens Debusschere, Kenny Dehaes, Thomas De Gendt, Jürgen Roelandts, Dries Van Gestel and Kenneth Van Rooy.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

03.06 - 11.06: Tour du Cameroun
04.06 - 11.06: Critérium du Dauphiné
07.06 - 11.06: Aziz Shusha
07.06 - 11.06: ZLM Tour
07.06 - 11.06: Vuelta Femenina a Guatemala
08.06 - 11.06: Course de la Paix GP Jeseníky
08.06 - 11.06: LWorld championships Saarland ...
09.06 - 11.06: Tour d'Eure-et-Loir
09.06 - 11.06: Tour Féminin des Pyrénées
10.06 - 11.06: Kırıkkale Road Race
Patrice DAMO
35 years | today
Santiago ORDOñEZ
26 years | today
21 years | today
35 years | today
Julie SAP
31 years | today