uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"It's really amazing to have such a train, I must admit. This train is usually for André Greipel. It is truly the first time that I can have a train exclusively for me for several consecutive days."

Photo: Sirotti






01.10.2015 @ 22:35 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Jens Debusschere has won the first stage of the Tour de l’Eurométropole (UCI 2.1). The stage started in La Louvière and finished after 164 kilometres in Chièvres. In the bunch sprint, Debusschere was faster than Raymond Kreder (Team Roompot) and Timothy Dupont (Roubaix-Lille Métropole).


After fifteen kilometres an early break of six riders went. Simone Antonini (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Christophe Prémont (Verandas Willems), Alexander Geuens (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace), Thomas Wertz (Wallonie-Bruxelles), Jayde Julius (MTN-Qhubeka) and Arthur Vanoverberghe (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise) managed to get a maximum lead of 4’30”. Christophe Prémont won all the GPM’s and  starts in the mountain jersey tomorrow.


With only thirty kilometres left, the breakaway was caught. Quickly, eight riders took off: Olivier Le Gac (FDJ), Pim Ligthart (Lotto-Soudal), Ludwig De Winter (Wallonie-Bruxelles), Jelle Wallays (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise), Kevin Van Melsen (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Giuseppe Fonzi (Southeast), Jan Dieteren (Leopard Development Team) and Emiel Wastyn (Verandas Willems). They didn’t get more than 25” from the peloton. Five of the eight attackers didn’t want to settle with a bunch sprint and attacked again. Le Gac, Ligthart, Wallays, Van Melsen and Wastyn got caught with only five kilometres to go.


In the bunch sprint, Jens Debusschere showed his fast legs and won in front of Raymond Kreder and Timothy Dupont. Jürgen Roelandts became fifth. This victory is his fourth win of the season, after he already won a stage in the Tirreno-Adriatico, GP Wallonie and Omloop van het Houtland. Also this win is the 40th UCI win for Lotto Soudal this season. In the general classification Alexis Gougeard (AG2R La Mondial) keeps his yellow jersey.


“Today was an easy day. The breakaway went early and afterwards the team of the leader controlled the race. Only in the last lap we had to work. At one and a half kilometres to go, I still had four teammates in front of me. Sean De Bie, Tosh Van de Sande, Kenny Dehaes and Jürgen Roelandts put me in a perfect position to do my sprint. The tempo that they rode was so high that nobody else could pass us. Jürgen started his lead-out on the right moment and I just had to time my sprint. This was just a perfect lead-out!” Jens Debusschere said.


"It's really amazing to have such a train, I must admit. This train is usually for André Greipel. It is truly the first time that I can have a train exclusively for me for several consecutive days. My train composed of Sean De Bie, Tosh Van der Sande, Jurgen Roelandts and Kenny Dehaes brought me perfectly up to 200 -250 meters from the line at breakneck speed. I realized that I had little chance of failing. I was able to complete the work of my teammates. 


"I gained ten seconds on Alexis Gougeard. I have not forgotten the overall standings, but I would have to win two further stages to be able to threaten him. This will not be easy.


“My prologue wasn’t that bad, but also not super good. A better result wasn’t possible. I did my very best and couldn’t go faster. But the overall feeling in the prologue was good.


"Tomorrow will be the second decisive day for the general classification. If there is as much wind as today, they will definitely  race. I know the climbs in the local lap well. Occasionally, I ride those hills in training. A top 10 in the general classification is still possible. Both Jürgen, Sean and myself are still close in the GC. We will wait and see how the race goes.”



One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

34 years | today
34 years | today
Bartlomiej STRZELSKI
38 years | today
Grega BOLE
35 years | today
31 years | today