uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

De La Parte powered around the 6.8km course for the Volta ao Portugal prologue with an average speed of more than 45kph to hold off defending champion Veloso and Luis-Leon Sanchez and become the first leader of the 10-day race

Photo: Sirotti








30.07.2014 @ 19:10 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Victor De La Parte (Efapel) made use of his great TT skills to become the first overall leader of the Volta a Portugal by winning the 6.8km prologue in Fafe. He beat defending champion Gustavo Veloso (OFM) by 3 seconds while Luis-Leon Sanchez (Caja Rural) finished 3rd 6 seconds further adrift.


Victor De La Parte has lots of great results in smaller stage races and is a past winner of the Sibiu Cycling Tour and the Tour of Algeria. Until today, however, he hadn’t won a major race but it all changed when he made use of his excellent time trialling skills to win the prologue of the Volta ao Portugal.


In the biggest race of his season, De La Parte was an early starter and he powered around the 6.8km course in a time of 8.56 to open big time gaps to the riders that had already done their rides. The Spaniard then faced a long nervous wait in the not seat but when the final wave of riders started no rider had managed to get within 10 seconds of his time.


Luis Leon Sanchez got close when he crossed the line in a time of 9.06 but De La Parte got his biggest scare when the final rider, defending champion Gustavo Veloso, hit the course. The Spaniard got his title defence off to a great start but when he crossed the line, he had to settle for second behind his compatriot.


The 10-day national Tour kicked off with a 6.8km prologue in the city of Fafe and after a flat, slightly descending first part, it ended with a pretty tough climb of more than 2km. The first rider down the ramp was Kota Sumiyoshi but none of the early starters managed to set a notable time.


Frederik Dombrowski (Stölting) set an early best time but was quickly beaten by Carlos Oyarzun (Efapel) who set the scene for his teammate De La Parte. The Spaniard was the next Efapel rider to hit the course and he lowered the mark by an impressive 32 seconds.


Ricardo Vilela (OFM) did a solid ride but it was Sergey Shilov (Rusvelo) who got closest to De La Parte among the early starters, setting a time that was ultimately good enough for fourth. Tim Gebauer (Stölting) also produced a solid ride and ended the stage in 19th.


Sergio Sousa (Efapel) got his race off to a great start by posting a time that was ultimately good enough for seventh and Daniel Silva (Radio Poular) was only 11 seconds slower. Max Werda (Stölting) was the next rider to crack the top 10 while Juan Jose Oroz (Burgos) was slightly faster.


Ruben Fernandez (Caja Rural) proved his great talent by posting a time that would allow him to finish 10th while past winner Hugo Sabido (LA Aluminios) did well to finish 14th. TT specialist Delio Fernandez (OFM) set a time that would give him ninth but all eyes were now on Stefan Schumacher (Christina Watches).


The German had to settle for fourth while Jose Toribio (Ukyo) did well to take 8th. Sanchez was now on the course but the Caja Rural rider could only slot into second.


CC riders Ricardo Mestre, Hernani Broco and Rui Sousa all fought hard to limit their losses while all focus was on Veloso who was the final rider who could realistically challenge De La Parte. Even though he missed 3 seconds in the end, the defending champion proved that he is ready to defend his title.


De La Parte will take his 3-second lead into tomorrow’s first stage of the race. An early category 4 climb will determine the first holder of the mountains jersey but all is set for a sprint finish in Maia late in the afternoon.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

44 years | today
21 years | today
29 years | today
39 years | today
28 years | today