uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“We had gathered enough points during the week, so we didn’t have to focus on the sprints and were able to go full-throttle”, said De Ketele. “Tactically, we did great.”



27.10.2013 @ 09:08 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

The Belgian team Kenny De Ketele and Gijs Van Hoecke won the 21st Amsterdam Six-Day this evening. The former Madison world champions defeated Leif Lampater and Raymond Kreder in a spectacular final chase. Dutch Duo Jens Mouris and Wim Stroetinga claimed the third place.


The favourites didn’t give each other time to get into the rhythm at the beginning of the last night. During the first Madison, there were lots of attacks and counterattacks and every move was covered with another one. Eventually, Lampater and Kreder were the only ones to take a lap.


Five couples fought for the overall win in the second Madison after Stöpler-Havik and De Ketele-Van Hoecke went round early. De Ketele and Van Hoecke, however, pulled off a doublette in the closing laps to secure the victory. Mouris/Stroetinga seemed to have everything under control with less than ten minutes remaining but then both De Ketele/Van Hoecke and Lampater/Kreder broke clear. As they chased a lap, De Ketele was shaking his head repeatedly. If the two teams managed to gain a lap, the Belgians would move into second place but still trail the Dutch-German constellation by a lap. Therefore, as the two teams bridged across, Van Hoecke immediately went on the offensive again and De Ketele, clearly the strongest rider in the bunch, created a tremendous gap in no time and soon the 2012 world Madison champions had taken the decisive lap.


“We had gathered enough points during the week, so we didn’t have to focus on the sprints and were able to go full-throttle”, said De Ketele. “Tactically, we did great.”


The win in Amsterdam is Van Hoecke’s first six-say victory ever. “It's very nice to take my first win here, as last year’s event was my first ever six-day. Unfortunately we didn’t win a single Six Day last season when we rode as world champions so it’s nice to win this one.”


In November the two Belgians will team up again for the Gent Six Day.


Track record

Tristan Marguet and Marc Hester put in a record-breaking performance in the two-lap trial. The Swiss-Danish combination won the event for the sixth day in a row and did so in a time of 21.495 seconds – a new track record as Swiss Marguet hurled himself around the track at blistering pace.


Final Result of the 6-Days in Amsterdam 2013:
1 Kenny de Ketele–Gijs van Hoecke (BEL), 282 p., 2 Leif Lampater (GER)–Raymond Kreder (NED), 245 p.,at 1 lap: 3 Jens Mouris–Wim Stroetinga (NED), 255 p., 4 Pim Ligthart (NED)–Marcel Kalz (GER), 226 p., at 3 laps: 5 Nick Stöpler–Yoeri Havik (NED), 243 p., at 7 laps: 6 Tristan Marguet (SUI)–Marc Hester (DEN), 194 p., at 8 laps: 7 Barry Markus (NED)–Robert Bartko (GER), 44 p., at 11 laps: 8 Jiri Hochmann–Vojtech Hacecky (CZE), 135 p., at 12 laps: 9  Melvin Boskamp–Jesper Asselman (NED), 134 p., at 15 laps: 10 Wesley Kreder (NED)–Nolan Hoffmann (RSA), 114 p., at 18 laps: 11 Aaron Gate (NZL)–Luke Roberts (AUS), 92 p., at 21 laps: 12 Didier Caspers–Melvin van Zijl (NED), 33 p., at 27 laps: 13 Guy East–Daniel Holloway (USA), 33 p.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Jeremy CABOT
33 years | today
24 years | today
Valery SHTIN
20 years | today
Chia Hao WANG
25 years | today
23 years | today