uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Berlin-born Austrian Andreas Müller took a "home win" together with Belgian power house Kenny De Ketele at the Berlin Six Days Race.







29.01.2014 @ 10:16 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

Heading into the final evening of the Berlin Six Days Race, possibly the most prestigious on the Six Days circuit, German-Belgian team Leif Lampater and Jasper De Buyst could look back on a five day long, uninterrupted lead and thus looked destined to walk away with the honours as they did in Ghent earlier in the season.


One of the intriguing aspects of sports, though, is the unpredictable nature of competition. This once again turned out to be true in the final Madison of the event as Kenny De Ketele and Andreas Müller were able to gain a vital lap and clinch victory. During the final Madison De Ketele – Müller and Bartko – Reinhardt took turns attacking the leading duo and eventually the leaders succumbed to the pressure.


For Andreas Müller victory was especially sweet as he was born in Berlin and made his Six Days debut here back in 2001. After the race he labelled it “the sweetest win of my career”.


More than 75,000 spectators witnessed the race during the six days and those who were present yesterday witnessed a spectacular and attack-infested finale and the last race of Swiss rider Franco Marvulli. The former all-conquering Swiss has been a pale shadow of himself this season and ended his career rather anonymously at 18 laps from the winners.


Next week Robert Bartko will terminate his career at the Copenhagen Six Days. The torch is being passed to a new generation whose finest member is surely Jasper De Buyst who appears destined to wear the mantle of track racing greatness.

Final classification:

1 Kenny de Ketele (BEL) – Andreas Müller (AUT), 250 p. 

at 1 lap:
2 Leif Lampater (GER) – Jasper de Buyst (BEL), 308 p.
3 Robert Bartko – Theo Reinhardt (GER), 236 p.

at 2 laps:
4 Vivien Brisse (FRA) – Christian Grasmann (GER), 211 p.
5 Yoeri Havik (NED) – Vojtech Hacecky (CZE), 210 p.

at 11 laps:
6 Tristan Marguet (SUI) – Maximilian Beyer (GER), 143 p.
7 Henning Bommel – Kersten Thiele (GER), 128 p.

at 15 laps:
8 Marcel Barth – Nico Heβlich (GER), 72 p.

at 18 laps:
9 Franco Marvulli (SUI) – Luke Roberts (AUS), 63 p.
10 Jesper Mørkøv (DEN) – Pascal Ackermann (GER), 61 p.

at 19 laps:
11 Tino Thömel – Nils Schomber (GER), 65 p.

at 20 laps:
12 Sebastian Wotschke – Hans Pirius (GER), 100 p.

at 24 laps
13 Guy East – Daniel Holloway (USA), 44 p.

at 25 laps:
14 Martin Blaha – Martin Hacecky (CZE), 27 p.

at 27 laps
15 Niki Byrgesen – Mads Christensen (DEN), 10 p.

DNF: David Muntaner – Albert Torres (ESP)



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

26 years | today
19 years | today
Philippe LEGRAND
38 years | today
52 years | today
23 years | today