uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Having gone into the final day in second position, de Buyst and De Ketele managed to pass Cavendish/Keisse to win the Six-Days of Ghent







23.11.2014 @ 18:21 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

With new partner Kenny De Ketele, Jasper de Buyst defended his title in the Six-Days of Ghent. On the final day, the Belgian pair managed to pass Iljo Keisse and Mark Cavendish who had gone into the finale as the leaders of the event.


Today Jasper de Buyst and Kenny De Ketele won the 74th edition of the Six-Days of Ghent on De Kuipke. They scored 430 points and were equal on laps with Iljo Keisse and Mark Cavendish whose points tally was only 394. The Swiss-German pair Leif Lampater/Silvan Dillier completed podium, one lap behind the two best pairs and with a points score of 311 points.


Even before the final one-hour madison, there was a huge battle for the points. Goinh into the final event, four laps were on the same lap. De Buyst and De Ketele had taken the lead with 416 points. Iljo Keisse and Mark Cavendish had 52 points less. Leif Lampater / Silvan Dillier were third with 307 points while Alex Rasmussen / Marc Hester followed in fourth with 273 points.


Keisse/Cavendish and Lampater/Dillier were the first to attack and they quickly took a lap. However, de Buyst/Ketele were quick to react and they quickly turned the situation into their favour again. For the rest of the race, the favourites constantly attacked each other and the action continued until the end. In the finale, Keisse and Cavendish made one final big attempt to take the elusive lap but the Jasper de Buyst and Kenny De Ketele responded appropriately and in addition to winning the final madison, they also won the Six-Days of Ghent overall.


Final result:

1 Jasper De Buyst (Bel)/ Kenny De Ketele (Bel) 440  pts
2 Mark Cavendish(GBr)/ Iljo Keisse (Bel) 394


1 lap: 
3 Leif Lampater (Bel)/ Dillier Silvan (Sui) 311


2 laps:
4 Alex Rasmussen (Den)/ Marc Hester (Den) 279


7 laps:
5 Nick Stöpler (Bel)/ Otto Vergaerde (Bel) 215


10 laps:
6 Moreno De Pauw (Bel) / Christian Grasmann (Ger) 253


15 laps:
7 Albert Torres (Spa)/ David Muntaner (Spa) 153


21 laps:
8 Glenn O'Shea (Aus)/- Shane Archbold (NZl) 186


26 laps:
9 Ivan Savitsky (Rus)/ Viktor Manakov (Rus) 186 


29 laps:
10 Michael Vingerling (Ned)/ Yoeri Havik (Ned) 109
11 Morgan Kneisky (Fra) - Vivien Brisse (Fra) 73


30 laps:
12 Lucas Liss (Ger)/ Andreas Müller (Ger) 40


31 laps:
13 Didier Caspers (Ned)/ Melvin Van Zijl (Ned) 6 



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

37 years | today
22 years | today
26 years | today
31 years | today
34 years | today