uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Greg didn't crash, but he had to start and stop again. He felt he had to chase hard to take the last two climbs in good position, which really killed him."

Photo: Sirotti




13.10.2014 @ 00:28 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Having won the race in 2011, Greg Van Avermaet was one of the favourites for today's Paris-Tours. The Belgian played a prominent role in the finale but as he had had to chase back from a crash, he lacked the final bit to make a difference.


Two riders from what had been a seven-man breakaway – Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) and Jelle Wallays (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise) – sprinted it out Sunday at Paris-Tours to successfully complete an escape of more than 230 kilometers. 


The BMC Racing Team contributed to the chase from behind in the final 25 km of the 237.5-km race. With the gap to the leaders hovering inside of 30 seconds, BMC Racing Team's Greg Van Avermaet and Dylan Teuns were part of a pursuit that included Jonas Vangenechten and one of his Lotto-Belisol teammates and John Degankolb and one of his Giant-Shimano teammates.


"If that group rides with three, then maybe they close the gap," BMC Racing Team Sport Director Rik Verbrugghe said. "But everyone was scared of Degenkolb in the sprint. So Dylan went alone to try to catch the group up front."


Teuns, a stagiaire who has signed with the BMC Racing Team for 2015, chased hard to catch the leading pair but was caught in the final kilometer. Wallays beat Voeckler in the sprint as Jens Debusschere (Lotto-Belisol) took the field sprint 12 seconds later. Loïc Vliegen – another stagiaire and a teammate of Teuns's on the BMC Development Team – was the BMC Racing Team's best finisher in 27th, while Teuns finished 30th.


Van Avermaet, winner of this race in 2011, finished 39th after being delayed by a crash with 20 km to go.


"Greg didn't crash, but he had to start and stop again," Verbrugghe said. "He felt he had to chase hard to take the last two climbs in good position, which really killed him."



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Oleksandr LOBOV
31 years | today
28 years | today
27 years | today
34 years | today
Hayley PREEN
25 years | today