uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

 “The UCI Hour Record has regained its appeal since we changed the rules. We’ve had Jens Voigt and Matthias Brändle and now we’re going to have three new attempts, not to mention Sarah Storey going for the women&...

Photo: Sirotti










22.12.2014 @ 08:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) is delighted that three new attempts will be made by Jack Bobridge, Rohan Dennis and Alex Dowsett to beat the UCI Hour Record, which currently stands at 51.852 km, as set by Austria’s Matthias Brändle at the UCI velodrome in Aigle, Switzerland, on 30 October.

Jack Bobridge, who will ride for the UCI continental team Budget Forklifts in 2015, will make his attempt at the Darebin International Sports Centre velodrome in Melbourne, Australia, on 31 January, during the final evening of the Australian Track Championships. The 25-year-old Australian, who won the world U-23 time trial crown in 2009, is a true track specialist, having also won the UCI team pursuit world title in 2010 and the silver medal in the same event at the 2012 London Olympic Games. He also holds the 4000m individual pursuit world record, stopping the clock at 4:10.534 on 2 February 2011 in Sydney. “I think it’s great that everyone is starting to put their hand up for it. It makes it more interesting,” said Bobridge. “I'm aiming to set a benchmark that leaves everyone questioning themselves about whether they want to do it or not.”


Fellow Australian Rohan Dennis, 24, will make an attempt of his own just a few days later, on 8 February, at the Vélodrome Suisse in Granges, the venue where Jens Voigt took the Hour Record distance up to 51.110km on 18 September this year. A member of the UCI WorldTour team BMC Racing, Dennis rode with Bobridge in Australia’s silver medal-winning pursuit team at the London Olympics. The young Australian enjoyed an excellent 2014 UCI Road World Championships in Ponferrada, Spain, claiming the rainbow jersey in the team time trial with BMC Racing, before finishing fifth in the individual time trial. “When I look at my experience on the track and the numbers I have been doing on the track and on the road, it is within reach,” commented Dennis. “As long as I don’t get too excited at the start and control my nerves, the pacing will take care of itself.”


The 26-year-old Alex Dowsett will take his shot at the UCI Hour Record on 27 February at the Lee Valley VeloPark in London, the venue for the track events at the 2012 Olympic Games. The winner of the British time trial title for three years in a row from 2011 to 2013, Dowsett rides for UCI WorldTour team Movistar. The London venue will see another record attempt the following day, with fellow British rider Sarah Storey going for the women’s Hour Record. “Everyone understands a world record, so I wanted my next target to be the Hour Record,” said Dowsett “The Hour is something I've always been interested in; the simplicity of it, mostly: no tactics, no hiding, just you and the bike.”


These latest attempts follow the UCI’s decision to update the Hour Record rules in May. The new rules allow riders to tackle the record on any bike that can be used in track endurance events. 

“The upcoming record attempts are great news for cycling,” said UCI President Brian Cookson. “The UCI Hour Record has regained its appeal since we changed the rules. We’ve had Jens Voigt and Matthias Brändle and now we’re going to have three new attempts, not to mention Sarah Storey going for the women’s record. I’m also delighted to see that riders from outside Europe are having a crack at this legendary record, one that adds to the global appeal of our sport. I just can’t wait to watch these attempts and to see where these riders are going to leave the record.”



Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58

Currently no news in this list

33 years | today
31 years | today
Shuo LIU
23 years | today
32 years | today
Zouhair RAHIL
27 years | today