uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Just 48 points separate the leading six teams after the opening evening at the Rotterdam Six Days.







08.01.2016 @ 08:50 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

For the past three or four years the Six Days in Rotterdam has been the unofficial Six Days World Championships due to the unparalleled strength of the peloton. This year, however, there are some very notable absentees. Regrettably Iljo Keisse and Jasper De Buyst (Belgium), Michael Mørkøv (Denmark) and Leif Lampater (Germany) do not participate in this year’s edition of the Dutch race for various reasons.


On the bright side, however, their absence might lead to a very broad field of potential winners as witnessed by the events in the Ahoy Arena on the opening night yesterday. No less than six teams sit at the same lap with Dutch duo Stroetinga/Kreder just edging out Belgian pre-race favourites De Ketele/De Pauw, winners of the London Six Days earlier this season.


The parity of the peloton was evidenced in the opening Madison of the night as 12 out of the 14 teams ended up in the same lap. Stroetinga and Kreder laid the foundation for their overnight lead by winning the final sprint and thus the second Madison of the evening. The two Belgians responded by winning the points race ahead of Mørkøv/Rasmussen.


Evidently it is too early to make any predictions about the outcome of the Six Days but it seems fair to assume that the winners will be one of the six teams currently on the same lap.


General classification after Day 1

1. Wim Stroetinga - Raymond Kreder (Holland) 61

2. Kenny De Ketele - Moreno De Pauw (Belgium) 59

3. Albert Torres - Sebastian Mora (Spain) 50

4. Niki Terpstra - Yoeri Havik (Holland) 45

5. Jesper Mørkøv - Alex Rasmussen (Denmark) 34

6. Morgan Kneisky (France) - Christian Grasmann (Germany) 13


At 1 lap

7. Filippo Pozzato (Italien) - Jens Mouris (Holland) 22


At 2 laps

8. Sebastian Wotschke - Hans Pirius (Germany) 13

9. Barry Markus - Jesper Asselman (Holland) 10


At 3 laps

10. Lucas Liss - Marcel Kalz (Germany) 12


At 4 laps

11. Michel Kreder - Andre Looij (Holland) 11

12. Vojtech Hacecky - Jiri Hochman (Czech Republic) 0


At 5 laps

13. Alex Buttazzoni - Marco Zanotti (Italy) 0

14. Melvin van Zijl - Michael Vingerling (Holland) 0



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

47 years | today
21 years | today
35 years | today
Andrea GENGA
27 years | today
29 years | today