uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Seven Grand Tour winners will be in contention: Alberto Contador, Chris Froome, Nairo Quintana, Alejandro Valverde, Cadel Evans, Ryder Hesjedal and Damiano Cunego

Photo: Sirotti


22.08.2014 @ 17:07 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Tomorrow the Vuelta a Espana starts with a team time trial and the Spanish grand tour can present a formidable line-up. Below is a few facts about the riders in attendance.


198 riders from 22 teams will take the start of the 69th Vuelta a España. They hail from 33 different countries and five continents, including nine African-born cyclists.

Spain (28), France (27) and Italy (26) have the highest numbers of starters, Italy having gained one at the eleventh hour with the replacement of Chris Horner by Valerio Conti as a result of a decision by the Lampre-Merida team.


The oldest competitor is France’s Sébastien Hinault from IAM Cycling at the age of 40 years and 193 days. The youngest is MTN-Qhubeka’s Merhawi Kudus from Eritrea at the age of 20 years and 212 days.


Seven Grand Tour winners will be in contention: Alberto Contador, Chris Froome, Nairo Quintana, Alejandro Valverde, Cadel Evans, Ryder Hesjedal and Damiano Cunego, as well as Grand Tour podium finishers Thibaut Pinot, Fabio Aru, Joaquim Rodriguez, Samuel Sanchez, David Arroyo, Rigoberto Uran, Yaroslav Popovych and Jurgen van den Broeck.


The sprinters’ list includes Peter Sagan, John Degenkolb, Nacer Bouhanni, Tom Boonen, Michael Matthews, Daniele Bennati, Roberto Ferrari, Yauheni Hutarovitch, Andrea Guardini, Moreno Hofland, Francesco Lasca, Nikias Arndt, Matteo Pelucchi, Greg Henderson, Gerald Ciolek and Kristian Sbaragli.


Time trial world champions Tony Martin and Fabian Cancellara will be the other stars of the event.



3 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18One for the road 04.09.2018 @ 15:25Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30

Currently no news in this list


21 years | today
32 years | today
Guillaume LOUYEST
32 years | today
21 years | today
Julinda DHAME
21 years | today