uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“We are going now into a transitional stage of the Tour. We have an undulating stage and a rest day and then we are transiting to a different part of Italy. A lot can change in the next week."

Photo: Delmati






16.05.2015 @ 19:53 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

ORICA-GreenEDGE kept a low profile on yet another aggressive day of racing on stage eight of the Giro d’Italia this afternoon.


As the general classification contenders flexed their muscles on the final category one climb to the finish, Team Movistar’s Benat Intxausti survived from a break to claim the solo victory.


Colombian climber Esteban Chaves was ORICA-GreenEDGE’s top finisher in 38thposition having lost contact with the group of main contenders with five kilometres to go.


“It was an incredible stage today,” sport director Matt White said. “Half the bunch was detached after yet another of the most aggressive starts we have seen of the Tour.


“I can’t get over how everyday is being raced like a one-day race, it’s going to catch up with a lot of people.


“I didn’t expect such an aggressive start today and the breakaway has done very well to hang on and the smarter teams showed their cards today.


“We are going now into a transitional stage of the Tour. We have an undulating stage and a rest day and then we are transiting to a different part of Italy. A lot can change in the next week, especially considering the way this first week has been raced.”



As teams tried to shape the day’s breakaway in early racing, the peloton split into two groups under the intensity.


Whilst some recovered to return to the front group, the day of those riders left behind was done.


Steven Kruijswijk (Team LottoNL-Jumbo) led over the first climb of the day and was shortly joined by two more riders at the head of proceedings, with an additional chase group of nine in pursuit.


Behind, the front peloton stepped up the pace and began to quickly eat into the nine-minute deficit they had.


At the start of the final climb, Kruijswijk, Carlos Betancur (AG2R La Mondiale) and Kristof Vandewalle (Trek Factory Racing) had a one and a half minute lead over the chase group and five minutes over the peloton.


Intxausti reached the leaders with five kilometres to go and attacked on the steep 12% section of the ascent, not to be seen again.


Meanwhile, a few minutes later on the same section of road, Astana put the pressure on and again the general classification contenders battled it out, eventually finishing just 35seconds behind the stage winner. 


Amongst that elite group Alberto Contador (TInkoff – Saxo) who retained the race lead.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
Andreas WALZEL
29 years | today
40 years | today
36 years | today
Christopher SCHMIEG
35 years | today