uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Cavendish comfortably beat Nizzolo and Viviani to take his tenth win of the season. Kangert comfortably held on to his gap to win the GC.

Photo: Sirotti








23.10.2016 @ 18:15 Posted by Joseph Doherty

Mark Cavendish got the perfect end to his season as he took his second win the Abu Dhabi Tour this week, ensuring he finishes with ten wins this season after a dominant Dimension Data leadout on the Yas Marina F1 circuit.


In the Yas Marina Circuit stage of the Abu Dhabi Tour, for the third straight day the break was comprised of the first riders to attack from the bunch: Michal Paluta (CCC Sprandi), Yauhen Sobal (Misnk), Kristian House (One Pro Cycling), Fredrik Frisson (Lotto-Soudal), Sergey Firsanov (Gazprom-Rusvelo). 


The break was kept under by control by Dimension Data and the quintet had just 1:30 with 80kms to go. Meanwhile, House won all of the intermediate sprints but his 24 points was not enough to unseat Jens Keukeleire (Orica-BikeExchange) from his jersey.


The gap was under a minute with just four laps or 20km remaining. Frison attacked the break while BMC’s Floris Gerts jumped free of the bunch. The Dutchman quickly caught Sobal and Firsanov from the break and then proceeded to promptly drop them.


Gerts was 27 seconds clear while the remaining three break riders had 45 seconds on the peloton, still under the command of Dimension Data. Gerts was absorbed as Frison and Paluta jumped clear from House at 4km to go.


At this point, the peloton was close behind and the break sat up, with BMC and Dimension Data took one side of the road each. Orica-BikeExchange and Sky tried to outdo Dimension Data, who had begun the leadout for Mark Cavendish.


Mark Renshaw’s leadout was actually too strong for Cavendish, who found himself with a gap to close. However, the winner of stage two had plenty of pace to come round his Aussie leadout man and hold of Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) by a bike length. Sky’s Elia Viviani was far back in third.


There was no issues or splits for the GC contenders, so Tanel Kangert (Astana) maintained his comfortable gap over Nico Roche (Sky) and Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) in the GC to take the overall.




Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18One for the road 04.09.2018 @ 15:25Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15

Currently no news in this list


21 years | today
Stephan HIRSCH
30 years | today
33 years | today
Jean Erik ROZIC
28 years | today
36 years | today