uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

18 riders will make up 2014 roster for Spanish team which has no room for Luis Leon Sanchez and Pablo Urtasun

Photo: Sirotti






16.11.2013 @ 11:47 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The Spanish pro continental Caja Rural team has finalized its roster for the 2014 season, with 18 riders set to make up the team. Having failed to secure additional funding, the team has decided not to sign any additional riders, thus closing the door for Luis Leon Sanchez an Pablo Urtasun who had both been linked with the Spanish squad.


The Spanish Caja Rural team has been in the transfer spotlight in recent days as both Luis Leon Sanchez and Pablo Urtasun have been linked with the squad but the team has now taken the decision to finalize its roster. Hence, there will be no room for the two Spanish riders who will have to find another team to continue their careers.


Urtasun was left on the market after the demise of the Euskaltel team and recently told Biciciclismo that he was waiting for Caja Rural to find out whether they will have an increased budget or do the Giro d'Italia in 2014. More money and a loaded race calendar would allow the team to hire additional riders, with Urtasun being the first priority. As the budget will not be increased and the team still has plenty of uncertainty regarding its race schedule, the team has decided not to sign any additional riders.


Sanchez was rumoured to be very close to signing a contract with the team but manager Juanma Hernandez recently revealed that he was unable to match the wage demands of the former  Paris-Nice winner. With the doors to Caja Rural now being closed, Sanchez faces a difficult task of finding a new team in time for the 2014 season.


The team has recruited three WorldTour riders for the coming season as Angel Madrazo (Movistar), Pello Bilbao (Euskaltel) and Davide Vigano (Lampre-Merida) will join the team. Heiner Parra (4-72 Colombia) and Lluis Mas (Burgos) will step up from the continental level while Fernando Grijalba and Antonio Molina will turn professional with the Spanish squad.


7 riders will leave the team. Andre Cardoso has signed a contract with Garmin-Sharp while the futures of Manuel Cardoso, Yelko Gomez, Francisco Moreno, Enzo Moyano and Danail Petrov is uncertain. Ivan Velasco had a bad crash in the Vuelta a Espana and it is still uncertain whether he will return to the professional peloton. The team may open a spot for him if he makes a full recovery.


Amets Txurrukas David Arroyo, Francesco Lasca, Javier Aramendía, Antonio Piedra, Fabrizio Ferrari, Karol Domagalski, Omar Fraile, Marcos Garcia, Ruben Fernandez and Ramon Domene will stay with the team in 2014.


The team is still hopeful that it will receive an invitation to the Giro d'Italia. As the only Spanish professional continental team, its participation in the Vuelta a Espana appears to be almost guaranteed.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

47 years | today
40 years | today
52 years | today
29 years | today
41 years | today