uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

ASO have announced a busy calendar for 2015 with more than 100 racing days

Photo: Sirotti


26.09.2014 @ 12:26 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The calendar for the 2015 cycling season was officially released yesterday by the International Cycling Union on the occasion of the world championships inPonferrada. The races organised by Amaury Sport Organisation will account for more than 100 days of cycling in eight different countries. Following an exceptional Grand Start to the Tour de France 2014, the Tour of Yorkshire makes its début between 1st and 3rd May, whilst the riders of the 102nd Tour de France will set off from Utrecht on 4th July…
Ladies first! The start of proceedings for A.S.O.’s 2015 season will be take place on 3rdFebruary in the Middle East involving the competitors on the 7th Ladies Tour of Qatar. Furthermore, women’s cycling will have pride of place throughout the year with the Women’s Flèche Wallonne in spring and the 2nd edition of La Course by the Tour de France on 26th July in the magnificent setting of the Champs-Elysées. After a first edition which met with resounding success (the event was broadcast on television in 157 countries), the stars of the women’s pack will do battle on the world’s most beautiful avenue, as a curtain raiser for the finish of the last stage of Le Tour.
The men will also start their year in the Middle East in February. On the flat and windy roads of Qatar and then on the more undulating terrain of Oman there will be something for everyone: from sprinters to climbers and not forgetting hunters of victories on the classics. The season will change tack at the start of March with Paris-Nice which traditionally marks the arrival of the prestigious stage races. Following the race to the sun, Corsica, the Isle of Beauty, will welcome the Critérium International for the 6th consecutive year in Porto-Vecchio, before leaving centre stage to the classics season. Soon after Paris-Roubaix, the kings of the cobbles will hand the spotlight over to the pugilists who will be focusing on the Flèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège.
Less than a year after the resounding sporting and popular success that was the Grand Start of the Tour de France 2014, the international elite riders’ pack will come together in Yorkshire for another three day event (1st to 3rd May). Between one Tour and another, the riders will have the opportunity to test themselves on the World Ports Classic on roads exposed to the strong winds of Zeeland, just several weeks before the Grand Start of the 102nd Tour de France in Utrecht. Beforehand, the Critérium du Dauphiné will have provided a full-scale rehearsal for the favourites on Le Tour.
Several weeks later, the riders will be battling for victory at far-off latitudes in the magnificent scenery of northern Norway for the 3rd edition of the Arctic Race of Norway, before heading much further south, to Malaga, to start the 70th edition of the Vuelta a España. Thereafter, the final challenge of Paris-Tours, the classic of the falling leaves, will complete the season.
The 2015 calendar of A.S.O. races and title holders:
03/02 - 06/02: 7th Ladies Tour of Qatar (K. Wild)
08/02 - 13/02: 13th Tour of Qatar (N. Terpstra)
17/02 - 22/02: 6th Tour of Oman (C. Froome)
08/03 - 15/03: 73rd Paris-Nice (C. Betancur)
28/03 - 29/03: 84th Critérium International (J-C. Péraud)
12/04: 113th Paris-Roubaix (N. Terpstra)
22/04: 18th Women’s Flèche Wallonne (P. Ferrand-Prévot)
22/04:   79th Flèche Wallonne (A. Valverde)
26/04:   101st Liege-Bastogne-Liege (S. Gerrans)
01/05 – 03/05: 1st Tour of Yorkshire
23/05 – 24/05: 4th World Ports Classic (T. Bos)
07/06 - 14/06: 67th Critérium du Dauphiné (A. Talansky)
04/07 - 26/07: 102nd Tour de France (V. Nibali)
26/07: 2nd La Course by the Tour de France (M. Vos)
13/08 - 16/08: 3rd Arctic Race of Norway (S. Kruijswijk)
22/08 - 13/09: 70th Vuelta a Espana (A. Contador)
23/08 - 29/08: 52nd Tour de l’Avenir (M.A. López)
11/10: 109th Paris-Tours (J. Degenkolb, winner in 2013)
11/10:   73rd Paris-Tours Espoirs (F. Dassonville, winner in 2013)



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

22 years | today
35 years | today
Anastasia LEBEDEVA
31 years | today
31 years | today
49 years | today