uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

The team will be led by the Feillu brothers while fast riders Fonseca and Vachon are also expected to shine

Photo: Sirotti










30.06.2014 @ 14:52 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Having already selected six riders for the team, Bretagne has now finalized the roster for their Tour de France debut. Sprinter Romain Feillu will lead the team in the flat stages while Brice Feillu and Florian Guillou are expected to shine in the mountains for a team that has unfortunately lost GC captain Eduardo Sepulveda due to injury.


After several years, Bretagne will finally make their debut in the Tour de France later this week and the team has now named the 9 riders that will try to put the jersey in the spotlight during the three weeks. Earlier this month, the first six riders were selected and yesterday the final three riders got the call-up.


Unfortunately, the team will be without its GC rider Eduardo Sepulveda who rode exceptionally well in the Tour de San Luis and Tour Med earlier this year. The Argentine crashed in the Bayern Rundfahrt and during his recon of the cobbles and a knee injury has forced him to postpone his debut in the world's biggest race.


Hence, the team will line up with no focus on the GC and the aim will be to win a stage. For the mountain stages, the team has Brice Feillu who was among the first six riders to be selected and who won the big stage to Andorra in his debut in 2009. Since then he has had a harder time but has shown good condition in recent weeks. He can count on support from another climbr, Florian Guillou, who was one of the final three riders to get selected.


Brice's brother Romain is also a late call-up to the team. The sprinter has been suffering since his magnificent 2011 season and so was a surprise omission when the first six riders were named. However, he recently broke his drought in the Ronde de l'Oise and that performance has apparently earned him a spot.


Another sprinter on the team is Armindo Fonseca who is likely to target the sprints in the harder stages. His good climbing skills will allow him to go on the attack as it is the case for another fast finisher, Florian Vachon.


Rouleurs Anthony Delaplace and Arnaud Gerard will be attackers on the team and may both target the stage 20 time trial as well. The final two spots have been taken by Jean-Marc Bideau and Benoit Jarrier, the latter being the third rider to be announced yesterday.


Bretagne for the Tour de France:

Brice Feillu, Romain Feillu, Florian Guillou, Arnaud Gerard, Anthony Delaplace, Benoit Jarrier, Armindo Fonseca, Florian Vachon and Jean-Marc Bideau



Bib Shorts vs Cycling Shorts: Which is Better? 22.09.2023 @ 14:57The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Ahmad Rifa'ie JOHOR
31 years | today
27 years | today
49 years | today
Mohamed IBOURK
28 years | today
Wenjun ZHOU
22 years | today