uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Belkin team takes control in bunch sprint finish and delivers Bos to his first win since June while Hofland does his own sprint and takes second to increase his overall lead

Photo: Cor Vos








21.10.2013 @ 15:39 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Theo Bos and Moreno Hofland continued the Belkin domination in the Tour of Hainan when the duo finished first and second on the flat second stage of the race. Having already taken seconds in the first two intermediate sprints, Hofland added more bonus seconds at the finish line and so increased his overall lead.


Since Theo Bos was prevented from starting the Vuelta a Espana due to low cortisol levels, the Dutch sprinter has worked hard to get back on track. Today he finally succeeded in his mission when he took his first win since the incident when he crossed the line first on the second stage of the Tour of Hainan.


It was a splendid day for Belkin who continued the dominated they had shown on day one. Yesterday's winner and overall leader Moreno Hofland was allowed to do his own sprint and took 2nd behind his teammate Bos. As he had already finished in the top 2 in the first two intermediate sprints, he had already extended his overall lead prior to the sprint and his 2nd place finish was enough to increase it further to 27 seconds over 2nd placed Frederic Amorison (Crelan).


Hofland takes his lead into tomorrow's 3rd stage which is another mostly flat affair.  The stage is 148,8km stage from Haikou to Qionghai offers the Belkin train another chance to show that they are the strongest team in the 9-day race which ends next Monday.


A flat stage

The 174,5km second stage brought the riders from yesterday's start in Chengmai to Haikou and was held on a mostly flat course. A bunch sprint was expected on the second day in the race which is usually dominated by sprinters.


The race was off to a really aggressive start and it took a long time for the early break to be established. As a result, the peloton was still together when they reached the site of the first intermediate sprint  at the 30,3km mark. Hofland showed his intentions of winning the race overall by beating teammate Lars Boom and William Walker (Drapac) in the battle for the bonus seconds.


A break gets clear

At the 46,7km mark, it was time for the second intermediate sprint and the peloton was still together at that point. This time Hofland had to settle for second as he was beaten by Fabian Schnaidt (Champion System) while Walker was once again 3rd.


After 52km of racing, a break finally slipped clear when Chris Williams (Novo Nordisk), Elchin Asadov (Synergy Baku) and Hong Kong national champion Cheong King Wai opened up a gap and after 100km, they were three minutes ahead of the main group. However, Belkin always kept things under control and the break never had a realistic chance of staying away. Asadov was the first to get dropped which allowed the peloton to sprint for 3rd place in the third intermediate sprint with Kevin Peeters (Crelan) picking up the lone bonus second on offer.


Things got back together in time for a final bunch sprint and Belkin lined things up in preparation for Bos. Hofland was allowed to sit on the back of his team's star sprinter to do his own sprint and that proved to be a winning formula for the Dutch team. Bos took a convincing win while Hofland held off Yannick Martinez (La Pomme Marseille) to make it a 1-2 for Belkin.



1. Theo Bos 4.16.56

2. Moreno Hofland

3. Yannick Martinez

4. Lars Boom

5. Yuri Metlushenko

6. Fabian Schnaidt

7. Justin Jules

8. Kevin Peeters

9. Rico Rogers

10. Andris Smirnovs


General classification:

1. Moreno Hofland 6.03.05

2. Frederic Amorison +0.27

3. Tom Leezer +0.37

4. Fabian Schnaidt +0.41

5. Jos Van Emden

6. Christopher Williams

7. William Walker +0.42

8. Kevin Peeters +0.43

9. Dario Hernandez +0.44

10. Adrian Honkisz


Points classification:

1. Moreno Hofland 48

2. Fabian Schnaidt 27

3. Kevin Peeters 18

4. Tom Leezer 17

5. Theo Bos 16


Teams classification:

1. Belkin 18.11.10

2. Crelan-Euphony +0.34

3. Drapac +0.49

4. Ukraine

5. La Pomme Marseille +1.13



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

27 years | today
Aske Louring VORRE
31 years | today
41 years | today
24 years | today
Cristopher MANSILLA
34 years | today