uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"I wanted to start the last climb in the front and I managed to do so. I waited with the sprint until 200m before the line and I was able to take 7th place, which I am very satisfied with."

Photo: Sirotti




06.02.2015 @ 18:27 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

With every race Grega Bole gets stronger and stronger and he proved that by claiming 7th place on the hardest stage of Dubai Tour. The very steep uphill finish was won by John Degenkolb.

"I wanted to start the last climb in the front and I managed to do so. I waited with the sprint until 200m before the line and I was able to take 7th place, which I am very satisfied with. Again we had some bad luck in the end, because Maciej Paterski punctured and I was left by myself. Throughout the entire stage the team worked great and I want to thank all my teammates for their help," Grega Bole said afterwards. "Tomorrow we will try to bring Grzegorz Stepniak to do sprint in the best possible position and I will have to make sure I don’t lose any seconds so I keep my place in the overall standings."


Thanks to Bole's good performance he moved up to 6th in GC, 12 seconds behind the new leader and stage winner, John Degenkolb.

Luka Pibernik (Lampre – Merida), Mohammed Al Murawwi, Vladimir Gusev (obaj Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team), Martijn Verschoor (Team Novo Nordisk) and Alessandro Bazzana (UnitedHealthcare) broke clear early in the race and they established almost a 10-minute advantage. The entire breakaway was brought back in with 33km to go and Pibernik and Bazzana were the last one to get caught.

CCC Sprandi Polkowice played a big role in closing the gap. Sylwester Szmyd and Maciej Paterski were setting up the pace on the first major climb of the day and split the field, leaving the race leader, Mark Cavendish behind. 


With 29km to go, when the groups came back together, Francisco Mancebo (Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team) launched an attack. Later he was joined by Lars Boom (Astana) but eventually they were both reeled in.


On the decisive, very steep climb to Hatta, John Degenkolb went all in and proved to be one of the most powerful riders in the peloton. He attacked 300 m before the line and hanged on to win stage 3. Two Movistar riders, Alejandro Valverde and Juan José Lobato, also made the stage podium. 



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

42 years | today
28 years | today
Martin PALM
28 years | today
24 years | today
Masahiro ABE
28 years | today