uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Kris Boeckmans beat Napolitano and Bazzana to win the last stage of the World Ports Classic, and he took the overall as Andrea Guardini faded and lost his GC lead.

Photo: Lotto Soudal






24.05.2015 @ 17:21 Posted by Joseph Doherty

Kris Boeckmans beat Napolitano and Bazzana to win the last stage of the World Ports Classic, and he took the overall as Andrea Guardini faded and lost his GC lead.


127 riders departed Antwerp for the 165km stage to Rotterdam under sunshine. Andrea Guardini entered the stage looking to keep hold of his GC lead.


The bunch was kept together early on so that the sprinters could fight for the bonus seconds and Kris Boeckmans (Lotto-Soudal) beat Rudy Barbier (Roubaix Lille Metropole) and Guardini of Astana. Boeckmans got 3 seconds, Barbier 2, Guardini 1.


Then a six man break was established: Pieter Van Speybrouck (Topsport), Tim de Troyer (Wanty), Daniele Ratto (UnitedHealthcare), Alex Kirsch (Cult), Sjoerd Kouwenhoven (Metec), Jetse Bol (De Rijke).


81.5km into the race they had a maximum gap of 2”55, but that came down to just 1”20 at 46km to go. 


Vanspeybrouck beat Kirsch and Ratto to take the second intermediate sprint of the day.


At 8km to go, Guardini was dropped from the peloton with some sort of mechancical, but just 3km later Astana got their team leader back, just as the break was absorbed.


But he was evidently tired and wasn’t able to feature and the pace was really upped by Lotto-Soudal, who could smell blood.


Heading into the final km, there was a really small peloton and only 15 riders would be credited with the same time as the leader. 

In the sprint, after finishing third yesterday, Boeckmans was delivered to the line perfectly and he held off Danilo Napolitano (Wanty) and Alessandro Bazzana of United HealthCare to take the stage, GC and Points Classications, taking a triple success. Barbier took the young rider’s jersey and Lotto-Soudal capped off a great weekend with the best team prize.


The men behind Boeckmans on the final two steps of the podium of final GC were Napolitano and Yauheni Hutarovich (AG2R).




Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

33 years | today
Rasmus GØTKE
27 years | today
19 years | today
45 years | today
Laurent BEURET
38 years | today