uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Team Sky and race leader Bradley Wiggins played it cool throughout the day to defend Wiggins' overall lead.

Photo: Sirotti






19.09.2013 @ 18:16 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

Sam Bennett (An Post-Chainreaction) celebrated his recent selection to Ireland’s World championship squad by winning stage five in the Tour of Britain today.


Thus Bennett improved his runner-up spot from stage 2. The 23-year-old Irishman was the fastest of an elite group that had formed after attacks on the two climbs of the steep gradients of the Caerphilly Mountain, beating Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) into second, with Martin Elmiger (IAM Cycling) rounding out the podium for the day.

Tucked safely in the front group, having been protected by his teammates from several attacks by Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp), was race leader Bradley Wiggins (Sky), whose grip on the gold jersey remains safe for another day.

The majority of the 177.1km stage was characterised by a long breakaway from KOM Angel Madrazo (Movistar), Jacob Rathe (Garmin-Sharp), Stefano Pirazzi (Bardiani-CSF), and Peter Williams (IG-Sigma Sport). Sweeping up the points available before the Caerphilly Mountain, Madrazo solidified his lead in the KOM competition. The quartet was never allowed to obtain much more than a three minutes lead, by Wiggins’ Sky team, and was duly reeled in on the lower slopes of the first Caerphilly Mountain ascent.

There then followed several attacks from riders such as Nairo Quintana, Dan Martin and Sergio Pardilla (MTN-Qhubeka), but Team Sky managed to pull everybody back, thinning the lead group to little more than a dozen as it hit the finish.

Result stage 5
1. Sam Bennett, An Post-Chainreaction
2. Michal Golas, Omega Pharma-Quick Step
3. Martin Elmiger, IAM Cycling
4.David Le Lay, Sojasun
5. Jack Bauer, Garmin-Sharp
6. Simon Yates, Great Britain National Team
7. Bradley Wiggins, Sky Procycling
8. Sébastien Reichenbach, IAM Cycling
9. Ian Stannard, Sky Procycling
10. Nairo Quintana, Movistar Team

General classification after stage 5
1. Bradley Wiggins, Sky Procycling
2. Ian Stannard, Sky Procycling, 37”
3. Martin Elmiger, IAM Cycling, 47”
4. Jack Bauer, Garmin-Sharp, 55”
5. Michal Golas, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, 1’12”



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

39 years | today
José-Manuel GARCIA
50 years | today
25 years | today
Mohamed Eleiwa HELAL
26 years | today
Yoshiyuki SHIMIZU
40 years | today