uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

German stage race will include its first ever summit finish on stage 2 which will play a major role in shaping the final general classification; a 25km time trial will be the other decisive stage in Germany's biggest stage race

Photo: Lampre-Merida


07.12.2013 @ 18:09 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The Bayern Rundfahrt has traditionally been one for the time trialists but that will change in 2014. The 35th edition of Germany's most prestigious stage race will include a summit finish on the Winklmoos-Alm, one of Germany's most famous climbs.


Since the Deutschland Tour folded, the Bayern Rundfahrt has been Germany's most prestigious stage race. In 2014 the race will be tougher than ever before and will include a brutal summit finish on the Winklmoos-Alm.


Being run in the final week of the Giro d'Italia and at the same time as the Tour of Belgium, the Bayern Rundfahrt plays an important role for many of the Tour de France contenders who often use the race to get back into competition after a small mid-season break. However, the race has until now mostly been determined by the long time trial, with the remaining stages often being comprised of three flat stages and a hilly one with a flat finish.


That will change in 2014 when the race will be much more suited to the climbers. The race opens on May 27 with a flat 201.6km romp from Vilshofen to Freilassing, passing through the birthtown of Pope Benedict XVI but the GC contenders will come into action on the second day of racing.


Stage 2 may only be 165km long but it contains no less than 3300m of climbing. Underway they will face climbs at Ramsau/Hochschwarzeck and Siegsdorf/Scharam, before taking on the mountaintop finish on the Winklmoos-Alm - four km climb with a maximum gradient of 19 percent.


"We are really excited to find out what impact this stage profile will have on the running of the race," course designer Walter Oestreich said.


The 233km third stage is the longest of the race and should be another one for the sprinters. It is followed by the decisive 25km time trial while the race will finish with a flat stage that ends with 10 laps on a flat circuit in Nürnberger Altstadt.


The race organizers hope to attract a top field for the 35th edition of their event.


"We have already had several requests and are likely to again invite around 20 teams," race director Ewald Strohmeier said. He added that he again hopes to attract some a large number of German riders.


"Of course we want to give German riders the chance to perform in front of their home public," he said. "That applies to the top riders from the large international teams as well as for the riders from the German Continental teams."


Two of those rider could be Gerald Ciolek and Linus Gerdemann. The pair will ride in MTN-Qhubeka colours in 2014 but is also hoping to do the Giro to which their team has applied for an invitation. Ciolek won a stage last year while Gerdemann will make his return after a one-year absence from the sport.


"Maybe Linus Gerdemann, also with MTN-Qhubeka in 2014, will celebrate his return to us," Strohmeier said.


The 2014 edition of the race was won by Adriano Malori who laid the foundations for his win by winning the time trial.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
43 years | today
Michela PAVIN
30 years | today
22 years | today
29 years | today