uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Our second objective was to land a top-10 result with Fabian Wegmann but unfortunately he was struck by a puncture just as we entered the finale and three riders supported him back up to the field."

Photo: Sirotti










19.04.2015 @ 19:39 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Today CULT Energy Pro Cycling experienced their biggest challenge in the history of the Danish team by taking part in the World Tour race, Amstel Gold Race covering 258 undulating kilometers in the Limburg region in the southern part of Holland. DS Michael Skelde had announced two objectives in this race; to be noticed in a breakaway and to pull a good result. CULT Energy’s Linus Gerdemann executed the first part of the plan but in the finale, World champion Michal Kwiatkowski proved invincible.

The German all-rounder took off in the early break consisting of six riders and created a gap well over ten minutes to the pack where Movistar was controlling the pace to set up their captain, Alejandro Valverde. Pretty soon, the cocktail consisting of high pace, narrow roads, road furniture and the number of short, steep climbs slowly but surely drained the riders before the thrilling finale.

With 50 kilometers to go, the front group split up as they increased the pace to prolong the time in the sun ahead of the field. But it was prolonging the inevitable and with 35 kilometers to go, a new front group consisting of Vincenzo Nibali (Astana), Simon Clarke (Oreca-GreenEdge), David Tanner (IAM Cycling) and Tony Martin (Etixx-Quick Step) was formed. But they couldn’t agree and Clarke decided to take matters in his own hands and soloed his way into the front of the race. Entering the final eight kilometers, Clarke was caught by the speeding peloton animated by BMC. In the first counter-attack, Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) leaped off with Greg van Avermaet (BMC) who didn’t want to pull while Tinkoff-Saxo decided to fire up the engine in the peloton and drag the tandem back.

Hitting the foot of Cauberg, the pack was complete and Philippe Gilbert (BMC) decided to attack with 2 kilometers to go but Michael Matthews (Oreca-GreenEdge) was on his tail immediately. As he didn’t have the strength to help pulling, they were caught by a chase group. Rushing towards the finish line, World Champion Michal Kwiatkowski (Etiss-Quick Step) jumped up from out of nowhere to take the prestigious win.

CULT Energy Pro Cycling's Rasmus Guldhammer was in the pack hitting the foot of Cauberg and finished 37th:


"It was an awesome experience getting to ride this race. It's stressful, hilly and suits me perfectly if it ended after 200 kilometers and not 260. However, I made it to Cauberg and was completely out of power. But now I got a taste of Amstel and I really hope we can be back next year. I needed more race kilometers to compete with the best today."


DS Michael Skelde states:

"We had two objectives from the start of the race. First of all, we wanted to show that we were in the race and Linus did a perfect job executing the first part of the plan by being out there in front of the field most of the day. Our second objective was to land a top-10 result with Fabian Wegmann but unfortunately he was struck by a puncture just as we entered the finale and three riders supported him back up to the field. Howeever, he was out of fuel and was dropped soon after.  Surely, his illness in the weeks prior to the race can explain the lack of endurance. Overall, I'm happy that we made an impact on the race and the riders demonstrated the unity that they truly have and there was nothing we could have done in the finale to improve this result. Rasmus needs a few more races like these and he could be a final contender already next year," concludes Skelde.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

29 years | today
Miroslav HRASKO
33 years | today
Muhammad YUDHA
26 years | today
Boots Ryan CAYUBIT
32 years | today
34 years | today