uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Riblon continued his recent good form to take the overall lead.

Photo: Sirotti








02.08.2013 @ 19:21 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

After allegedly being threatened out of the break Thursday, Darwin Atapuma (Colombia) won the sixth stage of the Tour of Poland on Friday as he outsprinted Christophe Riblon (AG2R) on the summit finish.


Atapuma was visibly content to sit on Riblon’s wheel inside the last 2 kilometres of the 192km stage. With barely a few hundred metres remaining, Atapuma blasted past Riblon who was exhausted after having bridged a gap to Atapuma and Cherneskyi (Katusha) on the final slope.


There was some consolation for Riblon, however, since he is the new race leader going into Saturday’s finale. He relieved Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Euskaltel-Euskadi) of the yellow jersey to open up a 19 seconds lead. Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) is third in the GC, 20 seconds behind Riblon.


A series of breakaways were created in the opening half of the race. At the 60 km mark a large breakaway group of 26 riders was established.


Fast forward fifteen kilometres, though, and the tough ascents began taking their toll on the group, which was reduced to nine. At the start of the last of five laps with 38.4km remaining, an eight-man group found itself ahead of the main field.

Five men attacked the peloton early in the final lap, bumping the lead pack to 13.


The attacks were unrelenting as the leaders made their way over the two climbs during the final round.


In the end Atapuma broke clear only to be joined by Riblon and it soon became evident that these two would decide the stage between them.


The Tour de Pologne ends with a 37km time trial into Krakow on Saturday.


Stage 6 result:
1. Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) Colombia    5:19:36
2. Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 02”
3. Leopold Konig (Cze) Team NetApp-Endura 22”
4. Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida 22”
5. Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 22”
6. Pieter Weening (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge 22”
7. Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 22”
8. Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling 22”
9. Ivan Santaromita (Ita) BMC Racing Team 22”
10. Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Lampre-Merida 22”


General classification:
1. Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    31:09:20
2. Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi    0:00:19”
3. Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo-Tinkoff    0:00:20”
4. Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling    0:00:242
5. Pieter Weening (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge    0:00:27”
6. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale    0:00:33”
7. Eros Capecchi (Ita) Movistar Team    0:00:33”
8. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack Leopard    0:00:36”
9. Ivan Basso (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling    0:00:40”
10. Alex Howes (USA) Garmin-Sharp 0:01:08”



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Werner NINDL
41 years | today
Andre Eduardo GOHR
26 years | today
Marcelo Nahuel MENDEZ
24 years | today
34 years | today
38 years | today