uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Bos takes his second win in a row in big bunch sprint while his teammate Hofland once again does his own sprint and takes second to extend his overall lead

Photo: Cor Vos








22.10.2013 @ 16:40 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Belkin continued their overwhelming domination of the Tour of Hainan when the team took its third win in three days of racing in the bunch kick on stage three. For the second day in a row, Theo Bos beat teammate Moreno Hofland in the sprint while the latter extended his overall lead due to bonus seconds.


Prior to the Tour of Hainan, Belkin was expected to have a major say on the race as the Dutch squad was the only ProTeam in the race but few would have expected their domination to be as impressive as it has been during the first three days of the race. After Moreno Hofland's win on day one and Theo Bos' and Hofland's 1-2 on stage 2, the latter duo repeated their performance on today's third stage.


Like yesterday, the team controlled the race and made sure that all would be decided in a big bunch sprint. With Lars Boom playing the role of lead-out man, the Belkin train dominated the final kilometres and delivered Bos to his second consecutive win.


Being the overall leader, Hofland was once again allowed to sit on Bos' wheel and do his own sprint. Like yesterday, he stayed in that position all the way to the finish to take 2nd while Yury Metlushenko (Ukraine) - the oldest rider in the race at age 37 - finished 3rd.


Having taken six bonus seconds at the finish, Hofland extended his overall lead over Frederic Amorison (Crelan) to 33 seconds. That will be his advantage on tomorrow's 183,6km fourth stage which contains the race's first categorized climb at the 89km mark. However, the route is mostly flat and another bunch sprint is the likely outcome.


A flat stage

The Tour of Hainan continued in its traditional sprinter-friendly manner on the 148,8km third stage from Haikou to Qionghai. An almost completely flat route made a bunch kick the likely outcome and most riders expected the fast finishers to come to the fore.


Like yesterday, the race was off to a fast start and it took a long time for the break to finally get established. After 50km of racing, 6 riders finally took off when Liu Jian Peng (Hengxiang), André Benoit (Quantec), Antoine Lavieu (La Pomme Marseille), Jesus Del Pino (Burgos-BH), Aandriy Vasylyuk (Ukraine) and Samir Jabrayilov (Synergy Baku) opened up a gap.


Belkin leads the chase

Behind, Belkin started to chase with young Marc Goos doing the early work. Up ahead, the escapees picked up the bonus seconds at the two first intermediate sprints with Vasylyuk and Liu passing the lines in first position.


Vasylyuk set off on his own while his former companions were caught by the peloton. With 15km to go, he was still 1.30 ahead and was still riding well.


Manan takes the Asian riders' jersey

The Ukrainian was the first across the line in the final intermediate sprint while Anuar Manan beat William Walker in the sprint for 2nd. Thus the Malaysian picked up two bonus seconds and so took the lead in the Asian riders' competition.


Vasylyuk did a good job to stay away but in the end, he was up against too strong opponents. The peloton swallowed him up and Belkin took control as they prepared the sprint for Bos. The Dutch sprinter lived up to expectations when he beat teammate Hofland and Metlushenko in the final dash to the line.



1. Theo Bos 3.19.34

2. Moreno Hofland

3. Yury Metlushenko

4. Lars Boom

5. Justin Jules

6. Jose Goncalves

7. Michael Kurth

8. Fabian Schnaidt

9. Christoph Schweizer

10. William Walker


General classification:

1. Moreno Hofland 9.22.33

2. Frederic Amorison +0.33

3. Tom Leezer +0.43

4. Fabian Schnaidt +0.47

5. William Walker

6. Christopher Williams

7. Jos Van Emden

8. Kevin Peeters +0.49

9. Jose Goncalves +0.50

10. Adrian Honkisz


Points classification:

1. Moreno Hofland 62

2. Fabian Schnaidt 35

3. Theo Bos 32

4. Lars Boom 27

5. Yury Metlushenko 24


Teams classification:

1. Belkin 28.09.52

2. Crelan-Euphony +0.34

3. Drapac +0.49

4. Ukraine

5. La Pomme Marseille +1.13



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

23 years | today
23 years | today
Randish Abdul LORENZO
27 years | today
Radames VINENT
45 years | today
41 years | today