uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.




20.10.2015 @ 10:07 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

After a 35-year absence, the Sixdays returned the British capital, London, on Sunday with an omnium race. This somewhat unusual start to a Sixdays was made necessary to allow those riders who took part in the European Madison Championship in Grenchen, Switzerland, on Sunday to participate in London as well.


On Monday, the Sixdays got under way in earnest and if yesterday’s action was an indication of things to come, we will witness a Belgian triumph when the race finishes on Friday. The first Madison of the night was won by the Belgian constellation Kenny De Ketele and Moreno De Pauw and this team continued to dominate the field, as they were the first team to win a second lap during the second Madison of the evening. Overall, they lead the race as a result of their points tally. There is still a long way to go, but this Belgian team may well be the duo to beat for anyone wishing to leave London as the first winners since Aussie team Danny Clark and Don Allan ran away with victory back in 1980.


In second place compatriots Iljo Keisse and Gijs Van Hoecke are hot on their heels. Iljo Keisse is the most successful among the active Sixdays riders and he will be looking to put all of his experience to good use and secure a triumphant beginning to this new season. The pair consisting of Dane Lasse Norman Hansen and Dutchman Pim Ligthart rounds up the podium. Those three pairs are all on the same lap, as are home crowd favourites German Burton and Mark Stewart.


The prestigious team elimination was won by the Danes Marc Hester and Alex Rasmussen, the latter being the most successful Sixdays rider during last season. Apart from this notable triumph, the Danish team had a rather quiet evening, as did Dutchmen Terpstra and Havik. Losing a lap on the opening evening is by no means disastrous but the pressure is already on for these two teams as they cannot afford to cede further ground to the two Belgian teams that looked powerful and in control on Monday night.


General classification

1. Kenny De Ketele - Moreno De Pauw (Belgium) 62

2. Iljo Keisse - Gijs Van Hoecke (Belgium) 48

3. Lasse Norman Hansen (Denmark) - Pim Ligthart (Holland) 16

4. Germain Burton - Mark Stewart (Great Britain) 14


At 1 lap

5. Chris Latham - Oliver Wood (Great Britain) 42

6. Alex Rasmussen - Marc Hester (Denmark) 34

7. Niki Terpstra - Yoeri Havik (Holland) 21

8. Stefan Schäfer - Christian Grasman (Germany) 8

9. David Muntaner - Albert Torres (Spain) 7

10. Sebastian Wotschke - Achim Burkart (Germany) 2

11. Ivan Kovalev (Russia) - Melvin Van Zijl (Holland) 2


At 2 laps

12. Morgan Kneisky (France) - Lucas Liss (Germany) 25

13. Michael Mørkøv - Jesper Mørkøv (Denmark) 10

14. Jasper Asselman - Welsey Kreder (Holland) 5

15. Jacob Duehring - Daniel Holloway (USA) 4

16. Glenn O’Shea (Australia) - Adam Blythe (Great Britain) 0

17. Andreas Müller - Andreas Graf (Austria) 0


At 4 laps

18. Chris Lawless (Great Britain) - Denis Rugovac (Czech Republic) 0



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

38 years | today
37 years | today
36 years | today
39 years | today
23 years | today